To avoid retesting you must keep your license valid and maintain category certifications.
License Renewal - Maintain a Valid License
PIN number changes each year and is listed on your renewal form, if you are eligible to renew online. Renewal forms are mailed to company addresses on record.
Please contact your company for your renewal form before contacting the MDA to avoid duplicate payments and/or renewal errors.
All pesticide applicator licenses expire on December 31st and must be renewed annually. Renewal application forms are mailed to the employer in November and December. The license fee and ACRRA surcharge are due at the time of renewal. Licenses can be renewed online, by mail, or in person at the MDA. Online renewal or in person renewal can be paid with a Mastercard or Visa credit card.
Commercial and Noncommercial licenses may be renewed up to 12 months after the valid date listed on the license. To avoid late fees, renew before March 1. Structural licenses may be renewed up to 3 months after the valid date. To avoid late fees, renew before January 1. Printed on each license identification card is your Valid date.
In order to be qualified to renew your license without retesting you must recertify for each category on your license. This needs to be completed before the recertify-by date listed on your license card. See Pesticide Applicator Recertification Requirements for more information.
The license fees are included in the table below. The Agricultural Chemical Response Reimbursement Account (ACRRA) surcharge is also due at the time of renewal.
|License Type||License Fee||ACRRA Surcharge||Total|
|Commercial Applicator||$50.00||$25.00 as of January 2022||$75.00 as of January 2022|
|Noncommercial Applicator||$50.00||$25.00 as of January 2022||$75.00 as of January 2022|
|Structural Pest Control Applicator||$50.00||N/A||$50.00|
|Structural Pest Control Company||$200.00||$100.00 as of January 2022||$300.00 as of January 2022|
Licensed applicators must notify the MDA of any change to a license, including:
- Adding a category(s)
- Changing to a different license type
- Changing employers
- Changing address
- Changing name
- Changing employer: Note that an applicator may not perform pesticide application work for a new company without first obtaining a license under that company's name
To make any of these changes, see Pesticide Applicator License Changes.
MDA accepts certification (reciprocity) in certain states for residents of those states in lieu of testing to obtain a Minnesota pesticide applicator license. See Reciprocity for more information.
A pesticide license is available on our webpage as soon as the license is issued. An identification card is printed and mailed to the applicator's company address. The license and identification card are not transferable to other individuals. Applicators must notify the MDA immediately when changing employers as the license becomes invalid when an applicator leaves an employer.
Pesticide applicators may not commercially apply any pesticide UNTIL the license has been issued and must have the identification card in their in possession, either the electronic facsimile from our webpage or the plastic wallets-sized card. Noncommercial applicators may not apply restricted use pesticides as part of their job UNTIL the license has been issued and must have the identification in their possession, either the electronic facsimile from our webpage or the plastic wallets-sized card. Minnesota law requires pesticide applicators to carry a valid license identification card whenever applying general or restricted use pesticides. As a courtesy, a license identification card (plastic wallets-sized) is mailed along with the applicator license.
License Structural Pest Control Applicators must be employed by a licensed company. See Structural Pest Control Applicator License Requirements for more information.