The Governor’s Council on Biofuels was created by Executive Order 19-35, signed by Minnesota Governor Tim Walz on September 16, 2019.

The purpose of the Council is “…to advise the Governor, and the Commissioners of the Department of Agriculture, the Department of Transportation, the Department of Commerce, and the Pollution Control Agency on the role of biofuels in reducing greenhouse gas emissions, and recommend policy and budget proposals to foster growth in the production and use of biofuels.”

As specified in the order, the study and recommendations of the Council must include, but are not limited to consideration of:

  • Policies that accelerate achievement of the petroleum replacement goals outlined in Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 239.7911
  • Policies and programs to advance and invest in carbon efficiency improvements of biofuels plants and sources of biofuels feedstock
  • Policies that utilize biofuels to help Minnesota achieve its greenhouse gas reduction goals under the 2007 Next Generation Energy Act

In making its recommendations, the Council must, at minimum, consider:

  • Impacts to, and opportunities for, farmers, rural communities, the natural environment, and economically disadvantaged populations as it relates to biofuels production
  • The feasibility and cost of increasing biofuels infrastructure throughout Minnesota

The Minnesota Department of Agriculture must submit a report based upon the recommendations of the Council by November 1, 2020.


  • Gary Anderson – Eagan, MN
  • Michael Bull – Northfield Township, MN
  • John Christianson – Lake Lillian, MN
  • Elizabeth Crow – Minneapolis, MN
  • Tim Gross – Duluth, MN
  • Chris Hanson – Fountain, MN
  • Rick Horton – Grand Rapids, MN
  • Kevin Lee – Minneapolis, MN
  • Lance Klatt – Little Canada, MN
  • Jeanne McCaherty – Prior Lake, MN
  • Mick Miller – Morris, MN
  • Kevin Paap – Lake Crystal, MN
  • Brian Thalmann – Plato, MN
  • Gary Wertish – Renville, MN
  • Bob Worth – Lake Benton, MN


Sign up for notification of future meetings

Full Council

Next Council Meeting:

To be determined

All meetings held at:
Orville L. Freeman Building
625 Robert St N, Saint Paul MN 55155

Past Council Meetings:

January 27, 2020
  • Agenda
    • 2:00 – 2:30: Welcome & Introductions (Governor Tim Walz)
    • 2:30 – 3:00: Overview of Executive Order & Current Status of Relevant Statutes (Agency Staff)
    • 3:00 – 3:30: Biofuels Industry Overview (Randy Doyal, CEO, Al-Corn Clean Fuel and Mike Youngerberg, MN Soybean Growers Association)
    • 3:30 – 4:00: Council Topics & Future Meetings (Council Members)
    • 4:00 – 4:20: Open Time for Public Comments (All)
    • 4:20 – 4:30: Wrap-Up & Adjourn (MDA)
  • Meeting Packet (available upon request)
  • Meeting Minutes (not currently available)

Executive Committee


  • Thom Petersen, commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture
  • John Christianson
  • Chris Hanson
  • Kevin Lee
  • Jeanne McCaherty

Next Executive Committee Meeting:

The time and location of the Executive Committee meeting has been changed. The Committee will meet on Friday, February 21, 2020, from 9:30 to 11 a.m., in Conference Room 316, Capitol Conference Rooms, at the Minnesota State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN. The purpose of the meeting is to plan future meetings of the Governor’s Council on Biofuels.

Members of the public may attend the meeting. If you wish to attend the meeting, please contact Melissa Hyslop at 651-201-6610.