The Minnesota Department of Agriculture is notifying Minnesotans that changes to the Cottage Food Law went into effect on August 1, 2021. Key changes to the law include:
- Registered Cottage Food Producers can now make and sell pet treats (dogs and cats only), provided certain conditions are met.
- The annual gross receipts cap has increased from $18,000 to $78,000.
- Labeling must include the individual’s name and registration number OR the individual’s name and address and all product labels must also include the statement, “These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection.”
Margaret Hart, MDA Communications