The Agricultural Fertilizer Research and Education Council (AFREC) traces it origins to the Agricultural Nutrient Task Force. This group of farm leaders, legislators, researchers, and industry representatives recognized the need for additional fertilizer research and associated education. They recommended that the legislature establish a 12-member council. The council, as stipulated by 18C.70, is composed of 12 voting members. Council members must be nominated by their organizations and appointed by the commissioner. Members serve three-year terms. Appointments must be staggered so that one-third of the council membership is replaced each year.

AFREC Board Members