We’ve adapted to help you meet the challenges and opportunities of COVID-impacted food supply chains and changing consumer behavior. You can apply for two types of cost-shares (details below):
We have up to $250,000 available for reimbursements for expenses incurred between July 1, 2020 and December 31, 2020 (the first half of our fiscal year). Check back in December to see the amount available for the second half of the fiscal year.
Funding for this program comes from the Agricultural Growth, Research, and Innovation (AGRI) Program (Minnesota Statute 41A.12), with funds from the Federal CARES Act for entities affected by COVID-19.
To apply for either of these programs, your business must be:
- A Minnesota farm or a food or beverage company registered with the Minnesota Secretary of State
- A small-to-medium enterprise (SME), which is an entity with fewer than 500 employees
You must also agree to:
- Promptly return post-event and follow-up surveys that ask for information including the number of leads generated and sales projections.
- Retain receipts and records for three years and make them available for audit or inspection by the MDA or state auditor on request.
We reserve the right to deny claims from entities not in good standing with the State, or those who do not comply with the program requirements. Companies and farms who win awards at MDA-sponsored events may exceed annual limits by the amount of that award. Booth discounts reimbursed for Minnesota Pavilion booth space are also exempt from annual limits.
We process applications on a first-come, first-served basis until the application deadline or funds are gone, whichever is first.
FY 21 first half
July 1 – December 31, 2020
January 10, 2021
FY 21 second half
January 1, 2021 – June 30, 2021
July 9, 2021
Example: A business demos their product three times: August 26, September 15, and January 5. The first two demos must be submitted for reimbursement by the deadline for FY 21 first half, while the January 5 demo must be submitted by the FY 21 second half deadline.
How to Apply
- Apply through our online application system. Select one of the program types:
- Include copies of receipts or invoices that show a zero balance for expenses during the eligible period. If you don’t have receipts, you can send a copy of the invoice with proof of payment (cancelled check or credit card statement).
- If this is your first time applying for reimbursement, you must also submit an IRS W-9 Request for Taxpayer ID and Certification.
$4,000 is the maximum reimbursement per entity for the first half of FY 21 from E-commerce Cost-Share.
To be eligible, you must meet the general program requirements and at least one of the following:
- Hold a current MDA Wholesale Food Processor/Manufacturer License, or
- Hold a current MDA Wholesale Food Handler License AND use a copacker to make a branded food or beverage (this resource is not for distributors), or
- Make a food or beverage product at a copacker located in Minnesota that holds one of the licenses listed here, or
- Hold a current MDA Minnesota Grown license.
- Cottage Food producers with a Minnesota Grown license are eligible but must follow the regulations regarding online sales.
The new online application includes a section where you can explain your expenses. Eligible E-commerce expenses include (50% reimbursement):
- E-commerce platform registration and sign-up fees
- E-commerce platform fees paid based on sales
- E-commerce platform or individual web store fees for advertising/premium positioning, and extensions such as store locators and other web store utilities
- E-commerce platform site brokering/consulting services
- E-commerce platform or individual web store creative and design contracting, including photography or videography, and other platform-specific setup costs
- Additional services used to increase, develop, or diversify your e-commerce marketing
- Note: Equipment and in-kind expenses are NOT ELIGIBLE
Contact Ariel Kagan if you have questions on eligibility or qualified expenses.
If your products are made in Minnesota, $4,000 is the maximum reimbursement per entity for the first half of FY 21 from Cost-Share for Wholesale Food Businesses. If your product is manufactured outside of Minnesota, $2,000 is the maximum reimbursement.
To be eligible, you must meet the general program requirements.
Eligible expenses include:
- Business-Business (B2B) Tradeshow costs (50% reimbursement):
- Booth rental (if there is a Minnesota Pavilion booth space available at an event, booth rental is NOT eligible)
- Badge scanner/lead retrieval services
- Compostable sampling costs (i.e. cutlery and porter service)
- Virtual B2B tradeshow registration
- Shipping of samples to specific businesses for 1:1 meetings scheduled as part of a virtual domestic B2B tradeshow
- Videography created for a virtual B2B tradeshow
- Merchandising costs (50% reimbursement):
- Contracted merchandising and point-of-sale promotion
- End cap promotions with retail chains/retailers
- Retailer promotional flyer participation costs
- Note: If paid by chargeback/discounted payment, you must provide a receipt, invoice, or purchase order showing clear itemization of these costs
- In-Store Demo costs:
- Must be a retail product demonstration in a store where your product is sold (this does NOT include sales at consumer events like farmers’ markets, festivals, fairs, etc.)
- May include labor for an employee, owner, or contracted help at a flat rate of $10/hour
- May include mileage at $0.50/mile up to a maximum of $200 per demo (valid only for owners or employees, not contractors)
- Minnesota Pavilion Mentorship costs (50% reimbursement):
- Only for approved participants in our Minnesota Pavilion Mentorship Program
- One-time reimbursement per company; maximum $500
- For expenses including airfare, hotel/lodging, car rental, education sessions, and badge for entry
Contact Brian Erickson if you have questions on eligibility or qualified expenses.
Cost-Share for Wholesale Food Businesses FAQs
Traditional business-to-business (B2B) tradeshows are showcases for manufacturers to display their products to wholesale buyers. Manufacturers and brand owners contract to rent a booth space at an event so they can pitch their products to buyers in-person. Virtual tradeshows are online events that include 1:1 meetings between manufacturers and wholesale buyers that are arranged in advance by an event organization or trade association. Events that include general “consumer” attendance or admission do not qualify as tradeshows.
Badge scanning is a way for exhibitors to electronically collect and compile leads at an event. It is usually accomplished by purchasing and downloading an app from the event organizer. The app then allows exhibitors to take photos of attendee (buyer) badges with their smart phone/device and keep all the information in one place. It’s a replacement for sharing business cards, although cards are still used.
Merchandising is the practice and process of displaying and selling products to customers. Point-of-sale promotions place products and signage in key locations to draw customer attention. When a manufacturer/brand owner grows their market reach and “store count” beyond their ability to effectively manage their products in individual stores, they might contract with another company for help. Contracted merchandising and POS promotion may be provided a broker or an independent entity/company with retail chain relationships.
In brick-and-mortar retail stores, brands compete for limited shelf space. Stores may charge fees for the best locations and for listing products in their grocery advertisements. End cap promotions display products on the very visible “end” of a grocery aisle and are often used for promotional pricing such as Buy One, Get One (BOGO). Retail flyer promotions include product placement in store-sponsored circulars or brochures.
The information provided as part of the New Markets program cost-share application will be used to assess the applicant’s eligibility to receive payment under the MDA New Markets program and to fulfill applicable financial reporting requirements. Completing this application is voluntary; applicants are not legally required to provide the MDA with the information requested, but only completed applications will be considered. While much of the information applicants provide is classified by Minnesota law as public, some of the information may be classified by law as private or nonpublic at the MDA. Data classified as private or nonpublic will be accessible only to MDA employees and contractors that have a work assignment that requires access to the data, and to other entities authorized by state or federal law to receive the data. The MDA may be obligated to provide the data to law enforcement, the Minnesota Department of Administration, Minnesota Management and Budget, the Office of the State Auditor, or the Office of the Legislative Auditor. Finally, private data about you may be released to third parties through your informed consent, or pursuant to a valid court order or federal subpoena.
Internal Revenue Service Code Section 6109 requires applicants to provide their correct taxpayer identification number to payers who must file information returns with the IRS. The MDA will use the information provided on the applicant’s W-9 form in order to report payments received as part of the GFAP Program to the IRS. The IRS uses the numbers for identification purposes and to help verify the accuracy of the applicant’s tax return. For more information on how the information provided on a W-9 may be used, refer to the Privacy Act Notice on page 6 of the W-9 form.