Grant Overview and Goals

The Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is accepting applications for the Fiscal Year 2020 (FY20) Noxious Weed and Invasive Plant Grant. Counties, municipalities, and weed management entities (including weed management areas) may apply for grants to address noxious weeds and invasive plants, with priority given to Palmer amaranth or other species on the Prohibited-Eradicate Noxious Weed List. This grant request is not to be confused with the Cooperative Weed Management Area (CWMA) grant program administered by the Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR). 

Project Levels

Grants for the first round (FY20) will be funded at two levels. Level 1 grants are intended for one-time awards to support local activity. Level 2 grants are intended to promote collaboration with entities within and outside their jurisdictions, over two years that address priorities identified by the MDA.

Level 1

Minimum award: $500

Maximum award: $10,000

Grant term: 1 year

Level 2

Minimum award: $10,001

Maximum award: $50,000

Grant term: 2 years


Applicant Eligibility


Any authorized representative of a county, municipality, or weed management entity in Minnesota may apply.

  • If you are not a County Agricultural Inspector (CAI), please contact your local CAI to discuss the RFP prior to submitting a project.
  • Prior to completing an application, applicants must have approval from their financial authority to participate with this grant.


The application period is now open. All applications must be received by 4:00 p.m. CST on November 26, 2019.

Read the Request for Proposals (PDF) for eligibility and requirements. Apply online; instructions are provided in the Forms and Resources box. If you need the application in an alternative format, please contact the program administrator.