The Grain Storage Facility Safety Cost-Share helps Minnesota farmers buy, ship, and install eligible safety equipment for on-farm grain bins or silos.

Amount Available

We have approximately $50,000 for this program in Fiscal Year 2021 (July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021). Funding comes from the Minnesota Legislature and private donations.

This program reimburses 75 percent of eligible expenses up to $400 per bin or silo and with a limit of $2,400 per farm per fiscal year.

  • Examples:
    • You have five bins and spend $4,500 on silo air quality monitors, harnesses and safety lines, and dust collection systems. You’re eligible for a reimbursement of $2,000 (5 bins x $400). If you have six bins and spend $4,500, you’re eligible for the maximum reimbursement of $2,400 (6 bins x $400).
    • You have two silos and spend $800 on respirators, harnesses, and equipment lockouts. You’re eligible for a reimbursement of $600. To get the full amount you’re eligible for, you would need to spend $1,066.67 (75% x $1,066.67 = $800).
    • You have eight bins and spent $1,800 to install handrails on two of them, so you're eligible for 2 x $400 = $800. You also purchased three fall-arrest harnesses for $350, so you're eligible for $262.50 (75% x $350). The total reimbursement would be $1062.50.

Do you have a scenario that's different than these? Contact us to find out how much you'll be reimbursed.

Eligible Applicants

Minnesota farmers

Eligible Equipment

Eligible equipment includes:

  • Fall protection systems
  • Engineering controls that prevent contact with an auger or other moving parts
  • Dust collection systems to minimize explosion hazards
  • Personal protective equipment to increase survivability in the event of a grain-bin-related emergency
  • Grain silo air quality monitoring equipment
  • Other grain storage facility safety equipment with prior approval from the MDA

See Frequently Asked Questions for more details on eligible equipment. We are prioritizing retrofits on existing equipment over new purchases.

To be eligible, all equipment must be purchased and paid for after July 1, 2020.

Applying

We are accepting applications until June 30, 2021 or until funds run out.

  • A farm can apply only once per fiscal year.
  • The MDA processes complete applications on a first-come, first-served basis.
  • We must receive all parts of the application before it’s considered complete.
  • After your application is approved, it takes approximately two to four weeks to receive your payment.

APPLY ONLINE

Things you will need to complete the online application:

  • Electronic copy(ies) of your proofs of purchase (receipts, paid invoices, or other proof that you purchased the items you are claiming for reimbursement)
    • If there is sensitive information on the documents, cover or remove it before making .jpg, .png, or .pdf copies of your documents. We do not need to know your bank account or credit card information.
  • Electronic copy of your IRS Form W-9, signed and dated
    • If you don’t have this, you can complete a digital W-9 within the online application.

If you can't apply online, contact the program administrator about other options.

Frequently Asked Questions

As we approve equipment, we’ll add that information to this list. Eligible equipment includes:

As we approve equipment, we’ll add that information to this list. Eligible equipment includes:

As we approve equipment, we’ll add that information to this list. Eligible equipment includes:

The cost-share is a reimbursement program, so you must purchase the safety equipment first and then submit your proof of purchase with your application. If you’re not sure that the equipment you are interested in buying qualifies, please ask us to get confirmation that it is an eligible item.

We need to know what you bought and when. We can accept detailed invoices or itemized receipts that describe what was purchased. If the invoice or receipt doesn’t have a zero balance, we need something that shows how and when payment was made (e.g. bank statement, cleared check, credit card statement with sensitive information removed or covered). Hand-written zero-balance receipts or invoices require this additional proof of payment.

No, the maximum reimbursement per bin or silo is $400.

DISCLAIMER: The Minnesota Department of Agriculture is merely the grantor of state funds for this program. Approval and reimbursement of funds by the Department for equipment purchased by the Grantee does not make the Department liable or responsible for the use of such equipment or any injuries or claims that might arise from such use. The Department is also not responsible or liable for the quality of or inability to use such equipment purchased under this program.