The Emerging Farmers' Working Group was created in the 2020 Legislative Session.

The purpose of the working group is:

"To advise the commissioner and legislature regarding the development and implementation of programs and initiatives that support emerging farmers in this state, the commissioner must periodically convene a working group consisting, to the extent possible, of persons who are, and organizations that represent, farmers or aspiring farmers who are women, veterans, persons with disabilities, American Indian or Alaskan Natives, members of a community of color, young, and urban, and any other emerging farmers as determined by the commissioner. No later than January 15 each year, the commissioner must update the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over agriculture regarding the working group's activities and recommendations.”


The inaugural working group members include:

  • Gina Aguilar, Hennepin County
  • Hannah Bernhardt, Pine County
  • Elizabeth Bryant, Rice County
  • Naima Dhore, Ramsey County
  • Jessika Greendeer, Washington County
  • Janssen Hang, Dakota County
  • Denise King, Anoka County
  • Lucas Kruse, Blue Earth County
  • Erika Legros, Carlton County
  • Moses Momanyi, Isanti County
  • Hindolo Pokawa, Hennepin County
  • Emily Reno, Otter Tail County
  • Sai Thao, Dakota County
  • Miah Ulysse, Ramsey County
  • Michael Walgrave, Rock County
  • Kaitlyn Walsh, Carlton County
  • Shelly Woods, Sibley County



    • February 12, 2021
    • March 12, 2021
    • April 9, 2021
    • June 11, 2021
    • July 9, 2021
    • September 10, 2021
    • October 8, 2021


    February 12 Meeting

    This meeting will be held via WebEx. Members of the public are welcome and public comments can be made through the chatbox. Contact Melissa Hyslop if you have questions or need reasonable accommodations.

    Time: 1 p.m.-3 p.m.
    Date: Friday, February 12, 2020
    Link: Register to attend
    Agenda packet: TBD