The Agricultural Chemical Response and Reimbursement Account (ACRRA) was established to provide financial assistance to cleanup agricultural chemical (pesticide and fertilizer) contamination by the 1989 Minnesota Ground Water Protection Act.

Contamination may occur due to sudden incidents, such as fire or transportation accidents, or sites contaminated by agricultural chemicals over a long period of time. The program is funded through annual surcharges on Minnesota sales of pesticides and fertilizers and on applicator and dealer licenses.

The Agricultural Chemical Response Compensation Board administers the ACRRA Fund, determining reimbursements or payments from the fund to eligible persons. The five-member board consists of representatives from the agricultural chemical registrants, manufacturers and dealers, farmers, the Department of Agriculture Commissioner, and the Department of Commerce Commissioner. Board meetings are usually scheduled quarterly.

Agricultural Chemical Compensation Board (ACRRA Board) members are appointed by the Governor and serve a four-year term. Appointments are coordinated through the Minnesota Secretary of State's Office. Current vacancies and information about Governor Appointments are posted on the Secretary of State's website.

Board Members

  • Jeff Wheeler, Chair
    Retailer Representative
    Second term, Expires 1/1/2024
    805 Highway 55 East, Buffalo, MN 55313
  • Janet Hou
    Manufacturer Representative
    First term, expires 1/6/2025
    594 Ashland Avenue
    Saint Paul, MN 55102
  • Mike Skaug
    Farmer Representative
    First term, expires 1/4/2027
    21498 420th St SW
    Beltrami, MN 56517
  • Joel Fischer
    Petrofund Director for Grace Arnold, Commissioner of Commerce
    Minnesota Department of Commerce
    85 East Seventh Place, Suite 500
    St. Paul, MN 55101-2198
  • Peder Kjeseth
    Assistant Commissioner for Thom Petersen, Commissioner of Agriculture
    Minnesota Department of Agriculture
    625 Robert Street North
    St. Paul, MN 55155-2538