There are six public members appointed by the Governor. No public member may reside in the metropolitan area.

The Rural Finance Authority board consists of representatives from five state agencies:

  • Department of Agriculture (Chair)
  • Minnesota Management and Budget (Vice-chair)
  • State Auditor
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Employee and Economic Development (DEED)

Powers and Duties include: The authority’s purpose is to develop the state’s agricultural resources by extending credit on farm real estate security and depreciable agricultural property (improvements, machinery, animals). The authority carries out this purpose by purchasing participation interests in loans or selling Agricultural Development Revenue Bonds to agricultural lenders or individuals for the purchase of agricultural items. Another loan participation program provides for restructuring farmer agricultural debt. An additional program was added in 1994 providing assistance to lower equity farmers to purchase stock in a value-added processing cooperative.

Rural Finance Authority Board Members

  • Thom Petersen, Commissioner
    Department of Agriculture
    625 Robert Street North
    St. Paul, MN 55155-2538
    651-201-6219
    thom.petersen@state.mn.us
  • Myron Frans, Commissioner
    Minnesota Management and Budget
    400 Centennial Building
    St. Paul, MN 55155
    651-201-8024
    myron.frans@state.mn.us
  • Julie Blaha, State Auditor
    525 Park Street, Suite 400
    St. Paul, MN 55103
    651-296-2524
    julie.blaha@osa.state.mn.us
  • Steve Grove, Commissioner
    Department of Employment and Economic Development
    1st National Bank Building
    332 Minnesota Street, Suite E200
    St. Paul, MN 55101-1351
    651-259-7112
    s.grove@state.mn.us
  • Steve Kelley, Commissioner
    Department of Commerce
    85 Seventh Place East, Suite 500
    St. Paul, MN 55101
    651-539-1441
    steve.kelley@state.mn.us
  • Mary Gritzmacher
    Unity Bank
    26171 Highway 27
    Pierz, MN 56364
    320-468-0366x2306
    mgritzmacher@unitybanking.com
  • Harold Wolle, Jr.
    16595 473rd Avenue
    Madelia, MN 56062
    507-236-2181
    Hwolle1227@gmail.com

  • Shelly DePestel
    18942 County Road 18
    Lewiston, MN 55952
    507-261-7909
    Daleyfarm2@live.com

  • Carol Anderson
    14235 115th Avenue NE,
    Foley, MN 56329
    320-492-1663
    ander@fallsnet.com
  • Gary Wertish
    26416 County Road 17
    Renville, MN 56284
    651-262-7128
    gary@mfu.org
  • Eric Sannerud
    8505 95th St. N.E.,
    Foley, MN 56329
    952-201-4227
    ericsannerud@gmail.com

2019 Board Meeting Dates

  • January 2
  • February 6
  • March 6
  • April 3
  • May 1
  • June 5
  • July 3
  • August 7
  • September 4
  • October 2
  • November 6
  • December 4