Addresses are available on the online registration portal.
|Training Date||Training Location||Registration Close Date||Time|
|02/11/2020||UMN NCROC Regional Training Center in Grand Rapids, MN||02/08/2020||8:30am - 5pm|
|02/26/2020||Regional Extension Office in Farmington, MN||02/18/2020||8:30am - 5pm|
|04/09/2020||Tau Center in Winona, MN||04/01/2020||8:30am - 5pm|
Who should attend?
This one-day training course is for produce growers. If your farm is not excluded or exempt from the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) Produce Safety Rule, at least one supervisor or responsible party from your farm must complete a training that uses FDA-recognized curriculum or equivalent. This course meets those requirements.
Contact the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) Produce Safety Program to learn if your farm is covered by the rule. Farms covered by the rule only need to have a responsible party attend once to meet the rule's requirements.
All produce growers interested in learning about produce safety, Good Agricultural Practices (GAPs), and the FSMA Produce Safety Rule are welcome to attend. Strong food safety practices can help protect your business, help meet market requirements such as a GAP audit, and keep our local foods safe and healthy for all.
What to Expect
The training will consist of practical guidance for implementing Good Agricultural Practices as well as the requirements of the FSMA Produce Safety Rule. Key topics include:
- Requirements of the FSMA Produce Safety Rule and how to meet them
- Potential sources of contamination on the farm and microorganisms of concern
- Water management and testing; worker hygiene; application and use of biological soil amendments
- Practices that reduce risks, and practical methods to implement these practices on the farm
- Your questions on the rule and how it is being implemented in Minnesota
Your trainers for these courses are MDA staff, UMN Extension staff, and experience fruit and vegetable growers.
Register: Visit the online registration portal
Cost: $35. (Note this is a subsidized cost and will likely rise in following years)
Registration deadlines:1 week before each class date, or until full. Preregistration required
Registration Includes: Training materials, lunch, refreshments, and a certificate of course attendance..
Certificate: Participation for the entire training is required to receive the certificate.
Schedule: Check-in 8:30 a.m. Training 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Contact the Minnesota Department of Agriculture Produce Safety Program at 651-539-3648 or email ProduceSafety.MDA@state.mn.us
This event is sponsored and planned for you by:
- Minnesota Department of Agriculture
- University of Minnesota Extension
- Minnesota Farmers Union
- Minnesota Fruit and Vegetable Growers Association
- Minnesota Farmers’ Market Association
- Minnesota Institute for Sustainable Agriculture
Funding for this statement, publication, press release, etc. was made possible, in part, by the Food and Drug Administration through grant PAR-16-137. The views expressed in written materials or publications and by speakers and moderators do not necessarily reflect the official policies of the Department of Health and Human Services; nor does any mention of trade names, commercial practices, or organization imply endorsement by the United States Government.