All MDA services should now be working after Friday's worldwide vendor technology outage. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Applications for the precision irrigation cost-share program were reviewed by the Natural Resources Conservation Services based on criteria determined by the partners. A list of eligible practices and the payment schedule is available at the project website, Irrigation Partnerships to Protect Groundwater

Over $2,800,000 of Federal and State financial assistance funds were budgeted to be allocated over the 5-year period. Due to exceptional interest among irrigators, the full amount was allocated after only two application periods within the first year.

In addition to working with funded applicants, project partners have connected with over 3,000 farmer and ag professionals through a variety of other activities. This group of farmers and ag professionals controls over 5,000,000 acres of farmland in Minnesota. Partners have held field days, nitrate clinics, conferences and other events, conducted research to document nitrate losses under irrigation, sealed 20+ wells, and offered irrigation water management outreach and promotion by the University of Minnesota through 3 podcasts, 4 blog posts, and 2 radio appearances.


Application Period Total Applications Received Number of Applications Selected Total Funding  Average Funding Per Application Counties with Selected Applications
Round 1: 
May 5-June 17, 2022
56 12 $685,397 $57,116 Becker, Benton, Dakota, Kandiyohi, Otter Tail, Sherburne, Stearns, Wadena
Round 2:
Ended December 22, 2022
92 27 $1,564,602 $57,948 Benton, Hubbard, Morrison, Otter Tail, Sherburne, Stearns, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Wadena
Project area map for the Irrigation RCPP cost share program. Counties included: Becker, Hubbard, Cass, Otter Tail, Wadena, Grant, Douglas, Todd, Morrison, a northern portion of Mille Lacs, Stevens, Pope, Stearns, Benton, Sherburne, Swift, Kandiyohi, Meeker, Washington, and Dakota. Five counties did not have funded projects: Cass, Douglas, Grant, Meeker, Mille Lacs, Pope, and Washington.