All commercial pesticide applicators and structural pest control applicators are required to meet financial responsibility as specified by Minnesota Pesticide Control Law and Rules. All Commercial Animal Wast Technicians (site manager and applicator) are required to meet financial responsibility as specified by the Minnesota Fertilizer, Soil Amendment, and Plant Amendment Law. Financial responsibility may be any one of the following:
Certificate of Net Assets Statement
A certificate of Net Assets Statement issued by a financial institution, authorized to do business in the State of Minnesota by the Minnesota Department of Commerce, showing the applicator to have net assets available to satisfy judgments equal to or greater than $50,000. The Net Assets Statement, to be considered official, shall be signed by an officer of that institution and printed on letterhead stationery of that financial institution. The Certificate of Net Assets Statement is not required to be submitted with the license application, but the applicator must be able to provide it to the Minnesota Department of Agriculture if and when requested.
An effective Certificate of Insurance, issued by an insurance company authorized to do business in the State of Minnesota by the Minnesota Department of Commerce showing the following minimum liability coverage amounts. The Certificate of Insurance is not required to be submitted with the license application, but the applicator must be able to provide it to the Minnesota Department of Agriculture if and when requested.
- Commercial Applicators:
$50,000 bodily injury or death, for each person; and for each occurrence; $25,000 property damage for each occurrence.
- Structural Pest Control Applicators:
$100,000 bodily injury; and $200,000 bodily injury or death, for two or more at each occurrence; and $10,000 property damage for each occurrence.
- Commercial Animal Waste Technicians - Site Manager and Applicator
Net assets greater than $50,000
Performance or Surety Bond
A Performance or Surety Bond from a bonding institution with the same monetary amounts and provisions as listed under the “liability Insurance” option above.
- If the employer maintains the required liability insurance or bond, employee (licensed applicators) need not do so.
- The policy or bond may contain a deductible clause not to exceed $500.
- The policy or bond must cover a period of time at least equal to the term of the license. If the Certificate of Insurance, Performance or Surety Bond indicates an expiration date prior to December 31 of the license year, the applicant must ensure that a new certification or bond is provided to the Minnesota Department of Agriculture before it expires.
- The policy or bond must contain a provision requiring the insurance or bonding company to notify the Minnesota Department of Agriculture by no less than ten (10) days prior to the effective date of cancellation, termination, or any other change of policy.
- All financial responsibility must be conditioned to cover the liability resulting from the handling, storage, disposal, and application of pesticides. Conditions, riders or endorsements that specifically exclude coverage for misuse of any pesticide are not allowed.
- If there is a recovery against the insurance policy, performance or surety bond, of if net assets fall below the required limits, additional coverage must be secured to maintain financial responsibility equal to or greater than the original amount required.
- The commissioner may require limits of liability in amounts exceeding the published limits for an individual applicant reasonably commensurate with the applicant’s possible liability exposure when deemed in the public interest.