This registration is for individuals only (including sole-proprietorships). Businesses such as firms, partnerships, corporations, societies, associations, and companies may not be registered as a cottage food producer.
The passage of the Cottage Food Law in Minnesota changed sections of legislation under MS 28A.15 previously known as the 'non-potentially hazardous foods section' and 'the pickle bill'. The cottage food law replaces both of these sections.
Cottage food producers must do the following:
Please be aware that these sales are subject to income tax and may be subject to sales tax. Contact the Minnesota Department of Revenue for more information at 651-556-3000.
Complete the training for Cottage Food Producer Registration (PDF: 934 KB / 68 pages) online for gross annual food sales of $0-5000.
Complete an advanced training offered by the University of Minnesota Extension Food Safety Program (EXT) for gross annual food sales of $5001-18000.
Based on the training, determine if you are eligible to register for this license exemption.
After finishing the training, complete the cottage food producer registration form. Registration can be completed online or through the mail.
To register online, visit the MDA Online Licensing and Payment System.
To register through the mail, download and complete the Cottage Food Producer Registration form (PDF: 248 KB / 2 pages) or you can request a paper copy of the form by contacting our main office at 651-201-6027.
Submit the registration form with the fee, if required.
If you are registering online, payment of any fees can be completed online at the same time as your registration.
If you are registering through the mail, send the registration form and the fee, if required, to the mailing address on the form. If you are in the $0-$5,000 level and do not need to send payment, you can also email your form to MDA.CottageFood@state.mn.us.
MDA will send you a registration card in the mail that will contain a unique registration number.
You will be registered once your complete information has been received by the MDA.
Cottage food registration: 651-201-6081
Food and Feed Safety Division licensing: 651-201-6062
Food and Feed Safety Division main office: 651-201-6027