Minnesota Hemp Plan

2021 version



Timeline

* Minnesota started operating under pilot program 2015

e 2018 Farm Bill removed industrial hemp from Controlled Substances Act;
Allowed for States to either allow Feds to enforce or get State Plan
approved by the Feds and run it themselves.

* October 31, 2019, USDA published Interim Rules for State plans; Allow
States to run under pilot program until November 2020.

* Minnesota elected to stay under pilot program for 2020 growing season
* Minnesota submitted draft State Plan to USDA on March 31, 2020

» After several drafts, USDA approved Minnesota Plan on July 14,2020
 Minnesota will operate under approved State Plan in 2021

» USDA final rule published and effective 3/22/2021



Legislation

* In 2020, Minnesota Legislature amended Minnesota Statutes Chapter
18K:
* Allowed for growing of industrial hemp for research purposes
* Allowed for licensing of processing for commercial purposes
* Added data practices language to be consistent with federal requirements
* Allowed for rulemaking



What is in the Approved State Plan?

* Application Process

* Applicant for hemp grower or processor license must:
* Pay nonrefundable registration and inspection fee
Name, address, contact information if individual

If entity, name and contact information of each key participant of the entity

* Person with executive managerial control; direct or indirect financial interest in entity
producing hemp; chief executive officer, chief operating officer and chief financial officer.
Does not include management such as farm, field or shift managers

Authorized representatives

Proposed acreage of growing/processing; legal description, Geospatial coordinates; map
Landowner contact information

First time applicants-fingerprints, fee, consent to background check within 60 days



What is in the Approved State Plan

* Application will be approved when:
* Application is complete

* Criminal history confirms applicant has not been convicted of a felony related
to controlled substance within the past 10 years.

* Applicant has submitted all reports and has paid any outstanding penalties

* Applicant must also be in compliance with all state, local and federal
laws.

* Applicant has ongoing obligation to ensure that grower, authorized
representatives, licensed applicant, and key participants have not
been convicted of a felony related to controlled substance in last 10
years.



What is in the Approved State Plan

* Must have a license before obtaining raw hemp for commercial
processing:
* Must be able to document source material for any hemp plants, extracts,

grain, seeds and products that they are in possession of or had processed.

* Documentation includes any test results from accredited lab validating materials not
exceeding acceptable hemp THC level

* Any changes to location must be approved prior to processing
* Must obtain hemp from licensed Minnesota grower or from sources approved
through another state or federally approved plan.

* Must obtain copy of fit for commerce certificate or equivalent from another state from
the grower specific to the lot being purchased



Sampling/Supervision/Inspection

Licensee must retain records of any testing results of final harvested
materials/processed materials to ensure compliance with .3% THC

Producer can’t harvest a “lot” unless a sample has been collected no more than
15 days previous.

Licensee or authorized representative should be present during inspection.

Compliance is based on whether the % of total THC results determined on a dry
weight basis includes a value of .3% within a range of values specified by plus or
minus the measurement of uncertainty.

Any sample test result exceeding the acceptable THC shall be conclusive evidence
that the lot represented by the sample is not in compliance.

The test result from MDA is considered the official test result
No commingling with other harvested lots without proper commerce certificates



Fit for Commerce Certification

* Ownership of raw hemp may not be transferred to a processor or to
the public without a Fit for Commerce Certificate

* Licensed Processor using hemp obtained from outside Minnesota
must maintain a bill of lading, certificate of analysis, and other proper
documentation demonstrating hemp was from a source approved
through another state or federally approved plan. Records must be

maintained for 3 years.



Transporting Hemp

* During transport of any raw hemp, transporter must have:

* Copy of owner of raw hemp’s license and, if different, license of individual
receiving the raw hemp; fit for commerce certificate, certificate of analysis
and

 Bill of lading or other documentation demonstrating hemp was legally
imported into Minnesota under applicable state and federal laws and from
sources approved through another state or federally approved plan.



Hemp Propagules

* To sell/purchase, licensee must maintain the following for 3 years:

Lot number
Grower’s declaration containing lot number

Copies of invoices showing sale of each lot, including name of the person the
lot was sold to, the amount sold, the date of sale, name of variety, and lot
number

Copy of the label that was attached to or accompanied the lot;
Copy of the field and final certification documents

Copy of each report concerning testing of hemp seed for labeling purposes,
including total THC and

Required USDA document if importing from another country



Hemp Propagules, Continued..

Upon suspension, revocation, nonrenewal, any live cannabis plants must be destroyed
without reimbursement.

Any volunteer hemp plants growing in subsequent years must be destroyed or a licensee
may register that grow location and cultivate and harvest the volunteer plants if they
obtain permission from the department and pay fees associated with registering the
grow location.

A hemp seed labeler selling seed in Minnesota must possess a current Minnesota seed
permit and follow all federal and state seed laws.

A person shall not acquire/grow hemp |oropagules of wild, landrace or unknown origin
without first obtaining written approval from MDA. Each lot of hemp clones must have
THC tested for each parental source before sale of any plants from that lot.

A person shall not sell hemp propagules to any person in the state that is not licensed by
MDA. A person selling propagules shall provide records showing to whom hemp
propagules were distributed.



Hemp Restrictions

* Hemp can be grown in any area zoned for agriculture, unless
restricted by local ordinance or other state law.

* Hemp cannot be grown in residential dwellings.

* Hemp production and processing practices must meet all federal and
state pesticide, food and feed laws.



Hemp Data and Reporting Requirements

* Licensee must maintain records regarding the acquiring, production,
handling, selling and disposal of all plants subject to this chapter for 3
years.

* Producers shall report their hemp crop acreage to FSA.

* Labs approved by MDA to conduct regulatory samples of hemp for
licensees shall report the results for all samples tested to USDA.



Enforcement

* Under 2018 Farm Bill, it is a violation of law to violate an approved
State Plan.

* Negligent violation for:

* Failing to provide an accurate legal description of land where hemp is
produced

* Producing hemp without a license
* Producing cannabis exceeding the acceptable hemp THC level.

* For each negligent violation, MDA will issue Notice of Violation and
require corrective action plan, which the producer is required to
follow. Corrective Action Plans are in place for at least 2 years.



Corrective Action Plans

* Must include:
* Date by which producer shall correct each violation
» Steps to correct the violation
* Description of procedures to demonstrate compliance

* If subsequent violation occurs while a corrective action plan is in
place, a new plan must be submitted with a heightened level of
qguality control, staff training, and quantifiable measures.

* 3 violations in 5 years, you lose your license and ineligible for 5 years



Enforcement, continued...

* If MDA determines violation of license with culpable mental state

greater then negligence:
« MDA immediately report to USDA, U.S. Attorney General, and Minnesota
Attorney General

* Immediate revocation if:
* Producer pleads guilty to or is convicted of any felony related to controlled
substance
* Producer made materially false statements to MDA
* Growing hemp exceeding acceptable THC level with a culpable mental state
greater than negligence



Final Rule Changes

* Negligent violation —The final rule raises the negligence threshold from .5
percent to 1 percent and limits the maximum number of negligent violations
that a producer can receive in a growing season (calendar year) to one.

* Disposal and remediation of non-compliant plants — the final rule allows for
alternative disposal methods for non-compliant plants that do not require
using a DEA reverse distributor or law enforcement and expands the disposal
and remediation measures available to producers. Feds will provide
acceptable remediation techniques in a separate guidance document.



Final Rule Changes

» Testing using DEA-registered laboratories — DEA has agreed to extend the
enforcement flexibility allowing non-DEA registered labs to test hemp until
January 1, 2022.

* Timing of sample collection — the IFR stated a 15-day window to collect
samples before harvest. The FR extends this requirement to 30 days before
harvest.



Final Rule Changes

 Sampling method — allow states and tribes to adopt a performance-based
approach to sampling in their plans. The plan must be submitted to USDA for
approval. It may take into consideration state seed certification programs,
history of producer compliance and other factors determined by the State or
Tribe. Samples should be 5 to 8 inches from main stem/terminal bud/centra
cola of the flowering top of plant.

* Extent of Tribal Regulatory Authority over the Territory of the Indian Tribe —
the IFR did not specifically address whether a tribe with an approved USDA
plan could exercise primary regulatory authority over the production of hemp
across all its territory or only lands over which it has inherent jurisdiction. The
final rule provides that a tribe may exercise jurisdiction and therefore
regulatory authority over the production of hemp throughout its territory
regardless of the extent of its inherent regulatory authority



Approved State Plan

* Any questions?



" DEPARTMENT OF ;
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MN Overview

Year Licensed Licensed
Growers Processors

2016

2017 33 5 1,210

2018 56 21 710 acres & 55,000 sq. ft. indoor

2019 449 214 7,353 acres & 403,304 sq. ft.
indoor

2020 461 235 4,690 acres & 282,800 sq. ft.
indoor

2021 169* 160* 4,552 acres & 4,128,034 sq. ft

indoor registered*

* Indicates current data as of February 4, 2021
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2021

* As of 2/3/21-- 230 applicants
CALENDAR

* New applicants: 89

1 2/ 3
4 5 6 7 8 910
11 12 13 14 15| 16| 17

18 19 20 21 22 24
* Application deadline is April 30, 2021 25 26| 27| 28 1

e Renewals: 141

Application available here: mda.state.mn.us/plants/hemp



Applicant applies to MDA Hemp
Program

Licensee plants hemp

License issued




Licensee reports hemp acreage

planted to FSA
License reports hemp acreage planted
to MDA

MDA samples hemp 15 days prior to
harvest
MDA issues Fit For Commerce
certificate




" DEPARTMENT OF 625 Robert Street North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-2538
" AGRICULTURE WWW.MDA.STATE.MN.US

Hemp Program License

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Chapter 18K and the Minnesota state plan, the above-named person/business is authorized to
act as a Grower or Processor or both based on the locations listed below.

Effective Date: 01/01/2021
Expiration Date: 12/31/2021

Physical Locations:

GROW LOCATION 1: 38540.49 SQ FT INDoOR [ ' I G POINT
S 70VNSHIP:115 RANGE:20 SECTION{J] 1/4 SECTION ]
GROW LOCATION 2: 3 04 ACRE 0UTDOOR I '\ I G~S ~ONT

TOWNSHIP:114 RANGE:18 SECTION]] 1/4 SECTION|J}
GROW LOCATION 3:4.21 ACRE OUTDOOR. MN -

B cFs PoNT I TOVWNSHIP:114 RANGE:19 SECTION] 1/4 SECTION
- PROCESSING LocaTioN 1: [ ' I s PoNT [

TOWNSHIP:115 RANGE:20 SECTIDN. 1/4 SECTIDN.




Changes to License

* Adding Locations or License category-- S50 change fee
e Submit a Change Request Form

* Do not grow or process hemp in a new location until you have registered it

m DEPARTMENT OF 625 Robert Street North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-2538
AGRICULTURE www.mda.state.mn.us
PLANT PROTECTION DIVISION Phone: 651-201-6600 Minnesota Statute 18K

HEMP PROGRAM LICENSE CHANGE REQUEST




Submission of this form will trigger the MDA to schedule an

inspection 15 days prior to harvest

PPD - Hemp Planting Cycle Form
m1 DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

Cnce yvou submit this form, we will place your hemp grow location |/ lot on our schedule for inspection at the appropriate time (within 30 days of your anticipated harvest date). For each variety that is reac

separate line and press “Add” to add another one. All varieties within the zame grow location with the same harvest date must be reported on the same form.

You will get an email with a different link for each grow location that you have registered. Flease enter in only those hemp varieties /lots that are planted on that specific land area. In addition, if you have

will be harvested on different dates, please fill out a separate form.

Today's Date License Number * Hemp Grow Location Number *
06/26,/2020 20210971

[AN]

Bl

Enter in a Hemp Lot Number in the space below. The Hemp Lot Number should be your FSA-assigned field lot number (Farm Mumber /Tract Number/Field, example: 12345-9766-2). Starting in 2021,
F54 field lot number on the form. For 2020, it is greatly preferred that you use the F5A number but not reguired. If you do not have an F54 number, put in any number in that space. Be sure to assign eac

different number.

PPD - Hemp Planting Cycles

Hemp Lot Number * Hemp - Variety List* Date of Planting* Date of Anticipated Harvest*
|12345-9766-2 | |anka |v| 3/1/2020 | |7/11/2020 |
Hemp Lot Number * Hemp - Variety List* Date of Planting* Date of Anticipated Harvest*
|12345-9766-3 | lc4 |v| 3/1/2020 | 7/11/2020 |

Submit




Field Inspection and THC Sampling

* Hemp lot must be harvested 15 days
after regulatory sample is collected

* We cut the top 2” from 30 plants
randomly selected throughout the
field




THC Testing

e Sample is sent to Legend Technical Services for THC analysis

* THC Test results must be 0.30% or less to be legal hemp- factoring with the
measurement of uncertainty

* Over 0.30% - can request a retest

e Two failed tests and it must be destroyed



DEPARTMENT OF 625 ROBERT STREET MORTH, SAINT PAUL, MN 55155-2538

AGRICULTURE WWW MDA STATE.MN.US

Industrial Hemp Program Fit For Commerce Certificate

January 21, 2021

License Number: N Emzil: |

This certificate concerns the test result for the industrial hemp plant sample collected at the licensed grow location
indicated below by the sample number. The sample was collected by an MDA inspector on 1/21/21. As defined in
Minnesota Statue 18K .02 and Subtitle G of the Agricultural Marketing Act of 1946, 7 U5.C. §§ 163%c — 16395 (2018
“Farm Bill"}, the delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol post-decarboxylation (Total Potential THC) content is specified by a
range of values plus or minus the measurement of uncertainty (MU). The MU adopted by the Minnesota Hemp

Program is based on the laboratory measurement of uncertainty plus sampling varablity. The value 0.30% must e
wiithin the THC content ranmge for youwr sample, whidh is listed below.

Sample Number | Grow Location | Variety Name | Total Potential THC (Lower Value w)/
MU- Upper Value w; MU

MW21001 Queen Dream 0.339% (0.258%- 0.421%)

The sample taken at your hemp grow location was tested for THC concentration and found to be in compliance
with MS Chapter 18K.02 and Subtitle G of the Agricultural Marketing Act of 1946, 7 U.5.C. §5 16350 — 1639s. The
industrial hemp material harvested from this specified lot is fit to enter the stream of commerce.




Measurement of Uncertainty

* Provides a THC test result range that factors in lab & sampling variability

EXAMPLE 1
Sample Number Variety Name Total Potential THC= Total THC Result- Total THC
D9 THC + (THCA*0.877) Lower Value w/ Result- Upper
MU Value w/ MW
001 Autoflower 0.306% 0.231% 0.381%
EXAMPLE 2
Sample Number Variety Name Total Potential THC= Total THC Result- Total THC
D9 THC + (THCA*0.877) Lower Value w/ Result- Upper
MU Value w/ MW
002 Cherry 0.395% 0.2994% 0.490%




		Sample Number

		Variety Name

		Total Potential THC=

D9 THC + (THCA*0.877)

		Total THC Result- Lower Value w/ MU

		Total THC Result- Upper Value w/ MW



		001

		Autoflower

		0.306%

		0.231%

		0.381%








Records- Growers

* Must keep records for 3 years

* Growers must retain—
* For Seed or Propagules purchased:

e A Certificate of Analysis

Lot number or other lot identification;

Invoices

Name of the variety/varieties; and

Copy of seed label



Records- Processors

* Must keep records for 3 years

* Processors must retain—

* Information documenting the source material for any hemp that they are in
possession of or have processed

* Fit For Commerce certificate, or

* Certificate of Analysis



m DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

Tony Cortilet
Margaret Wiatrowski
Katy Mutschler

651-201-6600
www.mda.state.mn.us/industrialhemp
hemp.mda@state.mn.us

THANK YOU!



mailto:Margaret.wiatrowski@state.mn.us
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