" DEPARTMENT OF :
N 2criculture Minnesota Hemp Program




Katy Mutschler

o

Hemp Program
Coordinator

Program Staff

Denise Thiede i

Shane Blair
Susan Smith .
S\ julie Dellick "™ e
" W Jeff, Lisa & Nate Hemp .

A

“ Supervisor




Minnesota Hemp Program

* Alicense is required for growers and
processors of raw hemp material

* License is obtained by applying online or filling
out a paper application

* All applicants must pass a criminal history
background check—instructions on how to
complete the check are mailed to the
applicant after they apply online

 Hemp is defined as having < 0.30% Total THC

* Growing, storage, and processing is NOT
permitted inside residential dwellings




Minnesota Stats

Statistic 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023
Applicants 586 459 299
' Licensed Growers 317 178 142

Licensed
Processors/Handlers

Outdoor Acreage Planted 1,202 7,353 4,690 2,830 375

Indoor Square Footage

0 55,000 403,304 1,353,489 318,713 122,040 -
: umber current as of 5/8/23
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Four Types of Hemp Varieties
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1 % Acres

Planted for 94.7% 99.3% 89.5% 25.2% 48% 39% 35%
1 Grain

| % Acres
Planted for 0.0% 0.4% 9.6% 74.4% 38.6%
CBD

% Acres
” Planted for
| CBG

% % Acres
Planted for 5.3% 0.3% 0.9% 0.4% 8.7%




* As of 5/8/23-- 279 applicants
* New applicants: 104

e Renewals: 175

e Application deadline extended to May 31

* Registered

* Acres: 1,530

e Square feet: 975,468
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Grower License

S400+

Processor License

S500+

Each Location

$250

License Change Fee

S50




Applicant applies to MDA Hemp
Program

License issued

Licensee plants hemp



Licensee reports hemp planted to
MDA

MDA samples hemp 30 days prior to
harvest

Licensee submits Harvest Report




MDA issues Fit for Commerce Certificate

Licensee harvests lot




" DEPARTMENT OF 625 Robert Street North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-2538
" AGRICULTURE WWW.MDA.STATE.MN.US

Hemp Program License

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Chapter 18K and the Minnesota state plan, the above-named person/business is authorized to
act as a Grower or Processor or both based on the locations listed below.

Effective Date: 01/01/2021
Expiration Date: 12/31/2021

Physical Locations:

GROW LOCATION 1: 38540.49 SQ FT INDoOR [ ' I G POINT
S 70VNSHIP:115 RANGE:20 SECTION{J] 1/4 SECTION ]
GROW LOCATION 2: 3 04 ACRE 0UTDOOR I '\ I G~S ~ONT

TOWNSHIP:114 RANGE:18 SECTION]] 1/4 SECTION|J}
GROW LOCATION 3:4.21 ACRE OUTDOOR. MN -

B cFs PoNT I TOVWNSHIP:114 RANGE:19 SECTION] 1/4 SECTION
- PROCESSING LocaTioN 1: [ ' I s PoNT [

TOWNSHIP:115 RANGE:20 SECTIDN. 1/4 SECTIDN.




Changes to License

* Add Locations or License category

* Submit a Change Request Form (available on website or by request)

m

PLANT PROTECTION DIVISION Phone: 651-201-6600 Minnesota Statute 18K

DEPARTMENT OF 625 Robert Street North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-2538
AGRICULTURE www.mda.state.mn.us

HEMP PROGRAM LICENSE CHANGE REQUEST

* Pay additional fees PLUS S50 change fee

* Do not grow or process hemp in a new location until you receive your updated
license



FSA Reporting

EXAMPLE OF FSA- 578 REPORT OF COMMODITIES FORM

ARkin, Mnnesoa FROGRAM YEAR; 2020
. REPORT OF COMMNODITIES
FsA - 578 (09-13-16) Q60872030
- - LT B - n.."TF;
Farm Number: {2345 FARM AND TRACT DETAIL LISTING DATE: ©
Ciparaior Hams and Addross Criginal: EX
12345 Fawmesrs L Cropland: 12 B0
Armprwiena M B5EET Faiedamnd: X5 71
Train = B R LT Noart Emr Jkn 5 8 Tz SNl L L B Tien  Cwam Field CHWicial' Planrinz Pl rise Fuad
Mumiher  Fielid o v il |y Typs e . e Pr. Hiwr Sl Sran Umin v iy Loawd it Rieanured Dwie Fewund Danw
FET I Hamp cH r C H i A 12 60 Yom M &1 52009 a1 GG
Producer  jane Doe L PEITY Wine Share 100 00 | MAR Unit 23 Sagruature Crabe O60472019
Tracl B553 Saimimay
ﬂ Crilo VerTyps Ini Vs lerPr Epé Unle Rt e E CrCa VarTyps Imd Lhe IrrPr R Usdt Epe (v E CriCao VerTwvps IntUse lerPr Ept Unie Rpt Gy
01 KIEFE IZ= FiZ Fd A 1260
Phile Fumbe il agsl Difkersiess
icropdaird: 12,60 Ropored on Cropland: 1260 Diflerere- O 00 Foepomed on Aon-Cropdand 000

Hemp Lot Number = Farm Number- Tract Number- Field Number
12345-9766-2



PPD - Hemp Planting Cycle Form

m1 DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

Please read all of the following information carefully. Once you submit this form, we will automatically put you on the list for an inspection/sampling for THC testing at the appropriate time

(within 30 days prior to your anticipated date of harvest). If you did not plant at this location, check the “not planted” box, enter 0.00 in the actual square footage or actual acreage field, and hit
submit.

DO NOT ALTER ANY OF THE PRE-FILLED INFORMATION.

Today's Date License Number* Hemp Grow Location Number* Hemp Location Date ID
05/08/2023

Hemp Grow Location Address Hemp Grow Location City Not Planted

Hemp Grow License Type Square Footage Acreage

For each variety planted at this specific grow location, fill out a separate line and press “Add” to add another one. In addition, if you have other hemp lots that will be harvested on different
dates, please fill out a separate form.

Please Note- The grower will be invoiced for each sample taken. The cost of the requlatory sample is no longer covered under the license fees. Each hemp variety and lot must be tested
separately. You will be invoiced $100 for each test, and 5250 for each additional inspection visit beyond the first one.

Enter in a Hemp Lot Number in the space below. The Hemp Lot Number must be your Farm Service Agency (FSA)-assigned field number (Farm Number/Tract Number/Field Number, example:

12345-9766-2). As required under the federal Farm Bill and the Minnesota state hemp plan, you must put in your FSA field number on the form. If you do not have an FSA field number, then
you must contact the FSA first before submitting this form.




Submission of this form will trigger the MDA to schedule an
inspection 30 days prior to harvest

PPD — Hemp Planting Cycles

Hemp Lot Number™® Hemp Variety List™ Date of Planting * Date of Anticipated Intended Use of Lot™ Actual Square Actual Acreage ™

v Harvest™ v| Footage™ Remove

Privacy Notice:

This information is being collected so the MDA can monitor licensed hemp growers' compliance with all relevant state and federal laws, rules, and requirements regarding the growing of hemp
in Minnesota. The MDA will also share this information with federal authorities to demonstrate that the MDA is compliant with all applicable state and federal laws, rules, and requirements for
the administration of a hemp licensing program in Minnesota. Some of the information you are supplying as part of this form, such as the location of vour grow field or greenhouse is classified
by law as not public data. Other data, such as the identity and contact information of Minnesota Industrial Hemp Program license holders, the material planted, acreage/square feet planted, and
planting dates, is generally classified as public data. Public data are available to anyone for any reason. Not public data will be used by those MDA employees and contractors that have a valid
work assignment that requires access to the data. Not public data may also be shared with parties authorized by law, parties authorized by you through your consent, and parties named in a
valid court order or federal subpoena. Not public data may also be provided to the legislative auditor or state auditor upon their request. In addition, all data provided on this form may be
disclosed to other parties if the MDA determines that there is a substantive threat to human health and safety or to the environment, or to aid in the law enforcement process. In the event of a
legal action, data may be shared with the Office of the Minnesota Attorney General or with Minnesota or federal courts. You are not required by law to provide this information to the MDA,
howewver your failure to do so may result in the revocation of your Minnesota Industrial Hemp license. Growing hemp in Minnesota without a valid Industrial Hemp license is illegal.

Submit




Field Inspection and THC Sampling

* Hemp lot must be harvested 30 days
after regulatory sample is collected

* We cut the top 5” from 30 plants
randomly selected throughout the
field

_——

e Each variety and lot must be tested
separately



THC Testing

e Sample is sent to Legend Technical Services for THC analysis

* THC test results must be 0.30% or less to be legal hemp- factoring in the
measurement of uncertainty

* Over 0.30% - can request a retest, remediate, or destroy




Measurement of Uncertainty

* Provides a THC test result range that factors in lab & sampling variability

EXAMPLE 1
Sample Number Variety Name Total Potential THC=| Total THC Result- Total THC Result-
D9 THC + (THCA x | Lower Value w/ MU | Upper Value w/ MU
0.877)
001 Autoflower 0.306% 0.231% 0.381%
EXAMPLE 2

Sample Number

Variety Name

Total Potential THC=
D9 THC + (THCA x
0.877)

Total THC Result-
Lower Value w/ MU

Total THC Result-
Upper Value w/ MU

002

Cherry

0.434%

0.359%

0.499%
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PPD - Hemp Harvest Report Form
m1 DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

For each hemp variety you intend to harvest and/or destroy, please fill in the white boxes with the information requested. The information in the gray boxes have been
pre-populated based on the Planting Report form you submitted. If the information is incorrect, please contact the Hemp Program at hemp.mda@state.mn.us.

You must submit this report to the MDA not more than 30 days and not less than 5 days prior to your intended harvest date. All hemp Lots must be sampled for testing

within a 30-day window prior to harvest. If the Department sampled and tested your Lot(s) for regulatory purposes, then you must harvest within 30 days of the sample
date. If it passes the THC test, then you will receive a Fit For Commerce certificate for the Lot.

If the Department notified you that your Lot was not selected for regulatory sampling, then you must take your own representative sample according to Department
protocols and submit it to a Department-approved laboratory for THC testing. You must submit the Certificate of Analysis/test results from the laboratory along with this

form. You must harvest the hemp within 30 days of the date the sample was collected. If the test results show a Total THC level below 0.3%, after factoring in the
measurement of uncertainty, you will receive a Fit For Commerce certificate for the Lot.

Providing the information requested on this form is a required condition of holding an MDA Hemp Program license.
Date




Contact Information

Entity Name Business Name License Number

Grow Location Information

‘Hemp Grow Location Number |Hemp Lot Number ‘ Hemp Location Date ID

‘Hemp Grow Location Address ‘ |Hemp Grow Location City

‘Hemp Variety List | |Hemp Grow Location TypT |Date of Planting

‘Date of Anticipated Har\reTt Harvested Acreage | |Harvested Square Footage

Date of Destruction Acreage Destroyed Square Footage Destroyed Reason for Crop Loss

| | M

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, this information is available in alternative forms of communication upon request by calling 651-201-6000. TTY users can call the Minnesota Relay
Service at 711. The MDA is an equal opportunity employer and provider.

Privacy Notice:

This information is being collected so the MDA can monitar licensed hemp growers' compliance with all relevant state and federal laws, rules, and requirements regarding the growing of hemp in Minnesota. The
MDA will also share this information with federal autharities to demonstrate that the MDA is compliant with all applicable state and federal laws, rules, and requirements for the administration of a hemp licensing
program in Minnesota. Some of the information you are supplying as part of this form, such as the location of your grow field or greenhouse is classified by law as not public data. Other data, such as the identity and
contact information of Minnesota Industrial Hemp Program license holders, the material planted, acreage/square feet planted, and planting dates, is generally classified as public data. Public data are available to
anyone for any reason. Not public data will be used by those MDA employees and contractors that have a valid work assignment that requires access to the data. Not public data may also be shared with parties
authorized by law, parties authorized by you through your consent, and parties named in a valid court order or federal subpoena. Not public data may also be provided to the legislative auditor or state auditor upon
their request. In addition, all data provided on this form may be disclosed to other parties if the MDA determines that there is a substantive threat to human health and safety or to the environment, or to aid in the law
enforcement process. In the event of a legal action, data may be shared with the Office of the Minnesota Attorney General or with Minnesota or federal courts. You are not required by law to provide this information
to the MDA, however your failure fo do so may result in the revocation of your Minnesota Industrial Hemp license. Growing hemp in Minnesata without a valid Industrial Hemp license is illegal.



DEPARTMENT OF 625 ROBERT STREET MORTH, SAINT PAUL, MN 55155-2538

AGRICULTURE WWW MDA STATE.MN.US

Industrial Hemp Program Fit For Commerce Certificate

January 21, 2021

License Number: N Emzil: |

This certificate concerns the test result for the industrial hemp plant sample collected at the licensed grow location
indicated below by the sample number. The sample was collected by an MDA inspector on 1/21/21. As defined in
Minnesota Statue 18K .02 and Subtitle G of the Agricultural Marketing Act of 1946, 7 U5.C. §§ 163%c — 16395 (2018
“Farm Bill"}, the delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol post-decarboxylation (Total Potential THC) content is specified by a
range of values plus or minus the measurement of uncertainty (MU). The MU adopted by the Minnesota Hemp

Program is based on the laboratory measurement of uncertainty plus sampling varablity. The value 0.30% must e
wiithin the THC content ranmge for youwr sample, whidh is listed below.

Sample Number | Grow Location | Variety Name | Total Potential THC (Lower Value w)/
MU- Upper Value w; MU

MW21001 Queen Dream 0.339% (0.258%- 0.421%)

The sample taken at your hemp grow location was tested for THC concentration and found to be in compliance
with MS Chapter 18K.02 and Subtitle G of the Agricultural Marketing Act of 1946, 7 U.5.C. §5 16350 — 1639s. The
industrial hemp material harvested from this specified lot is fit to enter the stream of commerce.




2022 Failures

* Approximately 9% of * 2 negligent
samples failed the violations were
initial THC test issued

* Lower than 2021
(12% failure rate)

* Negligent violation
is issued for
anything testing
over 1%
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Remediation

 Second Year

* 10 remediation attempts

e 80% of attempts were successful




Records - Grower

For Seed or Propagules
purchased:

- A Certificate of Analysis
- Lot # or other lot identification

._,"F” -- - Invoices
" > - Variety Name
- Copy of seed label

ol Wy

* Must keep records for 3 years



m DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

Katy Mutschler
Hemp Program Coordinator

651-201-6600
https://www.mda.state.mn.us/plants/hemp
hemp.mda@state.mn.us

THANK YOU!



mailto:Margaret.wiatrowski@state.mn.us
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