

MINNESOTA COTTAGE FOODS



DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE



What is the Minnesota Cottage Food Law?

This law allows for individuals to sell certain types of homemade food and pet treats directly to the ultimate consumer.

What types of foods can I sell?

Human food and pet treats (for dogs or cats only) must be non-potentially hazardous, meaning they do not support the rapid growth of bacteria that would make people sick when held outside of refrigerated temperatures. These include baked foods like bread, cookies, and bars; canned foods like jams, jellies, and pickled vegetables; and other goods like candy and dried seasoning mixes.

Treats for dogs or cats must be baked or dehydrated and safe for the intended species. Some ingredients (like onions) may be toxic to dogs or cats and should not be added to pet treats.

What other requirements are there?

Registration: A yearly registration with the Minnesota Department of Agriculture is required. Cottage food producers with sales of \$7,665 or less annually pay no registration fee, and

payment of a \$50 fee is required for producers with annual sales over \$7,665 and up to \$78,000.

Training: All producers must take a cottage food training course and pass an exam prior to registering.

Free online training is available for individuals with annual sales of \$7,665 or less. Training is available for producers with annual sales over \$7,665 and up to \$78,000 through the University of Minnesota Extension for a fee.

Labeling: Food must be labeled with ingredients (including allergens for cottage food intended for humans), production date, producer or business name, and registration number or address of the individual who made the food. The label must also include the statement, "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection."

Sales: Sales must be directly to the ultimate consumer. Sales to grocery stores, restaurants, or other businesses are not allowed. Pet treats can be shipped, but human foods must be delivered in person.

How do I start?

Visit the website:

www.mda.state.mn.us/food/cottage-food-producer-registration

Email: MDA.FoodLicensingLiaison@state.mn.us

Call: 651-201-6081

