
Farmers, homeowners, and businesses purchase seed from a variety of sources. Seed sales in Minnesota are regulated under the 
Minnesota Seed Law MN-Stat. 21.82-21.92. Seed sellers must be aware of their responsibilities when selling seed in Minnesota.

What To Look For
Label claims are the responsibility of the person or firm whose name and address appears on the label. However, a retailer can also 
be held responsible if they sell unlawfully labeled seed even though it was obtained that way from someone else. The following 
labels are examples which show the required information for Minnesota. Label appearance can vary as long as all required 
information is listed. Some information may be printed directly on the container.

• Agricultural Seed - Agricultural seed includes all crops, lawn and turf grasses, and vegetable and flower seeds intended for 
agricultural use and are required to be labeled as follows:

Note:  The “germination test date” cannot be more than 12 months old (15 months for lawn & turf grass, native grass, and wildflower 
seeds), exclusive of the month of the test. A “sell by” date is required on lawn & turf grass seed and is optional on other agricultural 
seed.

Note:  Vegetable and flower seed must be tested and packed for the year of sale.  A “sell by” date may be listed along with or in lieu 
of the” Packed For” date and it indicates the end of the period for which the label information is valid. *The number of seeds may be 
stated in lieu of or in combination with net weight.

Lawn and Turfgrass Mixture

Kind

Variety

Pure Seed

Germination

Hard Seed

Origin

Weed Seed

Weed Seed: Other Crop: Inert Matter: Lot No.: Test Date:

Noxious Weed Seeds (Name of Batch Present): No Per Lb: Sell by Date:

Labeler’s Name Net Weight:

Labeler’s Address:

Kind: Variety: Lot No.: Net Wt.: Packed For:

Labeler’s Name: Sell by Date:

Labeler’s Address:

• Vegetable and Flower Seed - Vegetable and flower seeds, including wildflowers, when packaged exclusively for homeowner use 
are required to be labeled as follows:

625 ROBERT STREET NORTH, SAINT PAUL, MN 55155-2538 
WWW.MDA.STATE.MN.US

SEED UNIT, PLANT PROTECTION DIVISION, PHONE: 651-201-6309, FAX: 651-201-6108
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For more information e-mail:  seed.mda@state.mn.us  •  For copies of forms, go to:  www.mda.state.mn.us/seed

•  Bulk Bins: seeds for homeowner use may be sold outside 
their original containers if dispensed from a container or bin 
where a valid original label is displayed for the purchaser to 
view.

• Treated means the seed has received an application of a 
substance or has been subjected to a process for which 
a claim is made such as pesticides, inoculants, or growth 
enhancement products. The name of the substance applied 
and the words “DO NOT USE FOR FOOD, FEED, OR OIL 
PURPOSES” must be included in the labeling for the seed. If 
poisonous, the appropriate signal word and symbol must also 
be shown.

• A blend is a combination of varieties and a mixture is a 
combination of kinds and must be labeled as such.

• Brands are marketing names and must be clearly identified as 
brands, not varieties. The actual variety name or the words 
“variety not stated” must be listed on the label.

• “Bin run” seed is generally not legal for sale in the state 
because it has not been conditioned, tested, or labeled for 
sale as required. Don’t accept unlabeled seed from a supplier.

Noxious Weed Seed Requirements
Prohibited Noxious Weed Seeds

The following species are not allowed in any seed offered for sale 
in the state.
• Canada thistle
• Musk thistle
• Field bindweed
• Perennial peppergrass 
• Plumeless thistle
• Leafy spurge  

• Perennial sowthistle
• Russian knapweed
• Hemp
• Bull thistle
• Palmer amaranth

Restricted Noxious Weed Seeds

The following species are allowed in seed offered for sale in the 
state but only up to the maximum total rate of twenty-five (25) 
per pound. If present in lesser amounts, the name and number 
per pound for each must be listed on the label under the heading 
“Noxious Weed Seeds.”
• Buckhorn plantain
• Dodder
• Frenchweed
• Eastern black nightshade
• Horse nettle 

• Wild mustard
• Wild radish
• Hoary alyssum
• Quackgrass
• Giant foxtail

Counties may further restrict use of seed containing the seeds 
of noxious weedy that have been petitioned to the county 
prohibited noxious weed list.

Permit Requirements
Initial labelers of seed must have a valid seed permit to sell seed 
in Minnesota. Retailers may sell seed in Minnesota without 
obtaining a seed permit when:

1. Reselling seed properly labeled by another person or firm 
who has a valid permit; or

2. Repackaging into smaller containers seed properly labeled by 
another person or firm as long as there has been no change 
in composition or quality of the seed. The original label and 
purchase records are very important and should be kept!

Recordkeeping for Retailers
Retailers have less stringent recordkeeping requirements than 
initial labelers. Retailers are not required to keep file samples but 
should keep accurate records of purchase and sale of seed for 
three years when reselling seed.

When Repackaging/Relabeling 

An invoice containing the kind and variety names, lot number, 
quantity, date, and the name of the person the seed was 
purchased from and a copy of the original label would be an 
adequate record for a retailer repackaging or relabeling seed. 
When possible, invoices showing who seed was sold to should 
also be retained. Protect yourself and your business reputation 
— accurate and complete records may help to show that you 
were not responsible for unlawfully labeled seed involved in an 
investigation!

Recordkeeping for Initial Labelers
Initial labelers must keep complete records for each lot indicating 
where the seed originated, all testing documents, a copy of the 
label, and to whom it was sold shipped or delivered for three 
years after the sale of the last portion of the lot. An initial labeler 
must also keep a file sample of the seed that represents the 
lot for one year after the sale of the last portion of the lot. For 
certified seed, documentation of certification must also be a part 
of the record.

Unlawful Acts
Persons who fail to comply with the requirements of the 
Minnesota Seed Law are subject to administrative, civil and 
criminal penalties.

What Retailers Must Remember
• When purchasing seed for resale, accept only properly        

labeled seed. Make sure the test date is current.

• Don’t sell seed with expired test dates or packed for dates. 
Properly dispose of old seed or return it to the supplier

• Obtain a seed permit if required.

• Keep good records!
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