625 Robert Street North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-2538 www.mda.state.mn.us

Rural Finance Authority Phone: 651-201-6004

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

2020 Minnesota Beginning Farmer Tax Credit—Asset Owner

Application Part A – Asset Owner Information (required by all applicants)

· Complete basic demographic section.

Application Part B – Beginning Farmer Information (required by all applicants)

• Complete the section with the name of the person or entity that you will be purchasing/renting agricultural assets to.

Application Part C – Agricultural Assets Information (required by all applicants)

- Describe the type of operation you will be selling or renting to the beginning farmer.
- Detail the land information as required if this is a land transaction.
- Detail the asset information as required if this transaction involves anything other than land.
 - → "Agricultural Assets" means agricultural land, livestock, facilities, buildings and machinery used for farming in Minnesota.
 - → You must notify the RFA of any future termination of a rental or share rent agreement.

Crop Share Lease

- The asset owner will receive a tax credit equal to 15% of the cash equivalent of the gross rental income in each of the first, second and third years of the share rent agreement as calculated below.
- The T-yield data will be posted on the MDA website. The price will be based off of the crop insurance program Fall Price which averages the month of October. If an asset owner is using the T-yield method and the farmland is located in multiple counties, the tax credit will be calculated using the T-yields for the county with the majority of acres.
- All tax credit calculations will be completed with the respective county's previous year's historical average T-yield data or the documented previous year's Average Production History (APH) for the specific plot of land.
- Non-Program and Specialty crops tax credit calculation will be based off of the actual production and a documented price at the time of harvest.

Crop Share Lease Examples

A beginning farmer leases 160 acres of crop land on a 65/35 share basis with $\frac{1}{2}$ of the acres allocated to corn and $\frac{1}{2}$ the acres allocated to soybeans. Asset owner receives 35% of the crop:

CORN

80 acres x 170 bu/acre (APH or T-Yield) x 35% (Crop share) x \$3.90 (USDA Fall Price) x 15% (Tax Credit) = \$2,784.60

SOYBEANS

80 acres x 50 bu/acre (APH or T-Yield) x 35% (Crop share) x \$9.25 (USDA Fall Price) x 15% (Tax Credit) = \$1,942.50

TOTAL SHARE LEASE TAX CREDIT = \$4,727.10

Non-Program and Specialty Crop Share Lease Example

PEAS

80 acres x 3,100 (actual harvest) x 35% (Share rent) x .12 (actual price at harvest) x 15% = \$1,562.40

Application Part D -

Are you or your spouse a family member of the beginning farmer who will be purchasing/renting from you?

• The transaction taking place must not involve a family member by blood or marriage. "Family member" means a family member within the meaning of the Internal Revenue Service Code, section 267(c)(4). This includes parents, grandparents, brothers, sisters, spouses, children, and grandchildren. Legal Adoption shall be considered in full effect.

Application Part E – Purchase/Rental/Lease Agreement Information

- Include any relevant documentation if completing the application or include with your package you mail to the RFA.
- Sign and date application and submit either via email or by printing out and mailing to:

Rural Finance Authority Minnesota Department of Agriculture 625 Robert St. N. St. Paul, MN 55155

Share Crop Prices for the Beginning	Farmer Tax Credit 2020
We will use the Harvest Price as pos for Minnesota as of December of	
Commodity	Price
Corn	3.90/bu
Soybean	9.25/bu
Wheat (spring)	5.05/bu
Sunflower (oil)	.161/lb
Organic	
Commodity	Price
Corn	8.99/bu
Soybean	18.47/bu
Wheat (spring)	11.34/bu
Sunflower (oil)	.288/lb

625 Robert Street North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-2538 www.mda.state.mn.us

Rural Finance Authority Phone: 651-201-6004

Asset Owner Information (required by all applicants)

APPLICATION

2020 Minnesota Beginning Farmer Tax Credit—Asset Owner

The data on this form will be used to certify your eligibility in the Beginning Farmer Tax Credit Program as defined by Minnesota Statute 41B.0391 subdivision 1. You are not legally required to provide all of the information on this form, but the Department of Agriculture will only certify the eligibility of asset owners who provide all of the requested information. The information provided on this form will be shared with the Minnesota department of Revenue to validate your tax credit.

dealer, or a con (flies tax return is a non-grante addresses, and documentation	mparable entity en ns with a SSN), con or trust (files tax re d percentages must	nplete the application with the in turn with a FEIN), complete the a be provided for credits to be iss	agricultural assets for profit. If the advision of agricultural assets for profit. If the advision of application using the trust's name ued. If applying on behalf of one tion to sign or additional signature.	e asset owner is a grantor trust rmation. If the asset owner e and information. Names, e of these entities, provide
Sole Propri	etor	Partnership	Non-Grantor Trust	Grantor Trust
S Corporati	ion	LLC		
		dividual grantor of a grantor true of the owner/lessor on the lease.):	st	
Business Name	e as it appears on t	ax return (Partnership, non-grantor tro	ist, S Corp., LLC.):	
Representative	e/Title:			
Address:			City:	
State:	Zip:	Phone:	Email:	
B Beginning	g Farmer Informa	ation (required by all applicants)		
Name:				
Address:				
City:			State	Zip
	ral Assets Inform	nation (required by all applicants)		
C Agricultu				

County	# of		n/Sub-Section		Township	Range	Dollar	Tax Credit	Total Ta	
•	Acres	(eg.1	1/2-NW 1/4)	•		Amount	%	Credit \$	
escription of the	Agricultural .	Asset you are	selling/renti	ng (complete c	applicable fields; 5% to	ax credit for sale (or 10% tax crea	dit for leas	е).	
D	Description		# of Assets		e/Model (If plicable)	Dollar Amou	nt Tax Credit		Total Tax Credit \$	
rop Share Lease	Information									
			Prograi		ulation Table					
Cr	op/County		Acres	APH or	Asset Owner's	USDA Fall	Tax		Total Tax	
			Acres	T-Yield	Share Basis %	Price	Credit	%	Credit \$	
			Acres	T-Yield	Share Basis %	Price	Credit 15	%		
	,, ,		Acres	T-Yield	Share Basis %	Price		%		
			Actes	T-Yield	Share Basis %	Price	15	%		
						Price	15 15	%		
				ram or Speci	ialty Crop Table		15 15 15 15		Credit \$	
	op/ County					Actual Price	15 15 15 15			
			Non-Progr	ram or Speci	ialty Crop Table Asset Owner's	Actual Price	15 15 15 15		Credit \$ Total Tax	
			Non-Progr	ram or Speci	ialty Crop Table Asset Owner's	Actual Price	15 15 15 15 2 Tax Credit		Credit \$ Total Tax	
			Non-Progr	ram or Speci	ialty Crop Table Asset Owner's	Actual Price	15 15 15 15 Tax Credit 15		Credit \$ Total Tax	

Are you or your spouse a family member of the beginning farmer who will be purchasing/renting from you? "Family member" means a family member within the meaning of the Internal Revenue Service Code, section 267(c)(4). This includes parents, grandparents, brothers, sisters, spouses, children, and grandchildren. Legal Adoption shall be considered in full effect. For a Trust, Corporation, Partnership, or LLC, the transaction cannot involve a family member of any beneficiary, trustee, shareholder, partner, or member. YES NO If you share a last name with the beginning farmer, state your relationship to them: Purchase/Rental/Lease Agreement Information Provide a copy of the purchase/rental/lease agreement that includes the following Names of beginning farmer(s) and owner(s) of the agricultural asset(s). Dates the agreement is effective. The written legal description (county, subsection, township, range) of all land and/or all relevant identifying information of other assets. The methods of rent payments and the payment schedule(s): → Cash Rent Lease: The dollar amount, payment dates, and the yearly total to be paid each year. → Share crop Lease: The percentage of the owner's and beginning farmer's share of the crops to be divided each year. → Livestock Share lease: The percentage of the owner's and the beginning farmer's share of the livestock to be divided each year. → **Purchase:** The amount paid for the purchase of the agricultural asset. Signed and dated by the beginning farmer and the asset owner **Note:** only one copy of the lease is needed from the beginning farmer and the owner. If using Average Production History, provide documentation of historical prices Asset owner must sign this statement. Legal representatives for a corporation may sign on behalf of that entity. Documentation may be required for authorization purposes. I certify that the above information and any supplemental information is correct and true to the best of my knowledge. Furthermore, I will adhere to the Minnesota Beginning Farmer Tax Credit Program and its Regulations. Signature: Date: **Deadline to Apply:** October 1st of the year for which the tax credit is sought. Applicants are highly encouraged to submit applications early in the year. If any information on this application changes, the applicant is required to contact the RFA with the changes. For any questions, contact:

Rural Finance Authority
Minnesota Department of Agriculture
625 Robert Street North, St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone 651-201-6004
Mda.bftc@state.mn.us