625 Robert Street North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-2538 www.mda.state.mn.us

PLANT PROTECTION DIVISION PHONE: 651-201-6507 FAX: 651-201-6108

NURSERY CERTIFICATE APPLICATION: NEW APPLICANTS ONLY				Minnesota Statutes 2016, 18H.05	
Certification period of January 1 to Decembe See pages 3 and 4 for information and instruction					
Certificate Holder Legal Name					
DBA (If different)					
Street Address (No PO Box)	Ci			e Zip	
Mailing Address		-		·	
County Company Phone					
Physical growing locations and sources of	purchased nu	rsery sto	ck must be listed on th	e back of this form.	
Will you hold, water and/or care for nursery stock (tree shrubs, and perennials) on site for more than two wee	eks? Yes	No	If yes, approximate retai	I value \$	
Will you purchase nursery stock from out-of-state sou		No			
Will you grow (in the ground, containers, etc.) any nurs	sery Yes	Yes No If yes, number of acres to be inspected		o be inspected	
Will you broker nursery stock?	Yes	No			
Will you operate a tree spade?	Yes	No			
		Growers	Certificate Fee:		
Type of Certificate You Are Applying for:			r of Nursery Stock Acı	res Fee	
Nursery Stock Dealer Certificate \$ 225.0	5.00		n 1/2 acre	\$200.00	
600366(3100		1/2 acre	up to 2 acres	\$250.00	
•			cres up to 5 acres	\$375.00	
600364(3100) (See "Growers Certificate Fee" schedule on the ri	iaht)	Over 5 acres up to 10 acres		\$425.00	
(See Growers Certificate Fee Scriedule on the fi	gnij	Over 10 acres up to 20 acres		\$600.00	
		Over 20 acres up to 40 acres		\$750.00	
		Over 40 acres up to 50 acres		\$900.00	
		Over 50	acres up to 200 acres	\$1,300	
		Over 200	acres up to 350 acres	\$1,600	
		Over 350	acres up to 500 acres	\$1,700	
		Over 500	) acres	\$1,700 plus \$3.00 fo each additional acre	
Submission of this form:					
<ol> <li>Confirms the applicant is conducting a valid busi</li> <li>Confirms the applicant will not purchase nursery</li> <li>Allows the commissioner or designated represen</li> </ol>	stock for persona	al use.	-		
Signature		Dat	te	For Office Use On	
Name (Print)		Titl	e		

625 Robert Street North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-2538 www.mda.state.mn.us

PLANT PROTECTION DIVISION PHONE: 651-201-6507 FAX: 651-201-6108

# **NURSERY CERTIFICATE APPLICATION: NEW APPLICANTS ONLY**

Minnesota Statutes 2016, 18H.05

Physical Growing Locations (if different than Certificate Holder Location/Address)

Please attach directions, legal descriptions, UTM coordinates, and/or maps to growing sites that cannot be located based upon street address.

Location Name	Street Address	City	County

## **Sources of Purchased Nursery Stock**

If no purchase have been made, list the most likely sources for this calendar year.

Nursery Name	Street Address	City	State and Zip

#### Return this form with your check made payable to:

**Minnesota Department of Agriculture** 

Attention: Cashier 625 Robert Street North St. Paul, MN 55155-2538

Please note: Certificates are NOT transferable and fees are not refundable.

#### PLANT PROTECTION DIVISION PHONE: 651-201-6507 FAX: 651-201-6108

# NURSERY CERTIFICATE APPLICATION: NEW APPLICANTS ONLY Minnesota Statutes 2016, 18H.05

As required by law, Minn. Stat. Sec. 18H.05, anyone who sells, offers for sale, or distributes any nursery stock in the State of Minnesota must obtain a Nursery Stock Dealer OR a Nursery Stock Grower Certificate. **This application is for new applicants only.** Those holding a certificate must purchase and sell only certified nursery stock. All stock offered for sale must have been officially inspected and certified free of harmful plant pests within 12 months preceding sale.

#### WHICH CERTIFICATE DO I NEED?

#### **Apply for a Nursery Stock Dealer Certificate if:**

- You purchase more than half (50%) of the nursery stock you will sell during the calendar year.
  - New applicant fee for your first year is \$225.00. Renewal fees will be based upon your gross sales of nursery stock from the previous year. NOTE: A separate certificate is needed for each sales location.
- You are a landscaper, broker, or tree spade operator.
  - Trees moved by a tree spade must be inspected and certified before they are moved.

#### **Apply for a Nursery Stock Grower Certificate if:**

- You grow more than half (50%) of the nursery stock you will sell.
  - The fee is based on the number of acres in nursery stock production. All stock must be inspected before sale. Only one certificate is required for multiple growing sites and allows only one sales site. Contact the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) to schedule an early inspection if needed. Only stock growing on the acres applied for will be inspected and if certified, eligible for sale.

## You do not need to apply for either certificate if:

- You grow and sell only annual or indoor ornamental plants. If you will ship these plants outside Minnesota, contact the MDA to assure proper certification for destination state or country.
- You conduct occasional sales. An individual (not a business of any size) may offer nursery stock for sale and be exempt from the requirement to obtain a nursery stock dealer certificate only if ALL of the following conditions are met:
  - The gross sales of all nursery stock in a calendar year do not exceed \$2,000; and,
  - All nursery stock sold or distributed by the individual is intended for planting in Minnesota; and,
  - All nursery stock purchased or procured for resale or distribution was grown in Minnesota and has been certified by the commissioner; and,
  - The individual conducts sales or distributions of nursery stock on ten or fewer days in a calendar year; and
  - All sales are conducted by an individual, not a business, company, firm, corporation, partnership, association, etc.

#### WHAT IS NURSERY STOCK?

Nursery stock means a plant intended for planting or propagation. This includes but not limited to, trees, shrubs, vines perennials, biennials, grafts, cuttings, and buds that may be sold for propagation whether cultivated or wild and all viable parts of these plants.

#### Nursery stock does not include:

- Field and forage crops;
- The seeds of grasses, cereal grains, vegetable crops, and flowers;
- Vegetable plants, bulbs, or tubers;
- Cut flowers, unless stems or other portions are intended for propagation;
- Annuals; or
- · Christmas trees.

Sod is not nursery stock but may be inspected for export as needed.

Minnesota Department of Agriculture

625 Robert Street North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-2538 www.mda.state.mn.us

PLANT PROTECTION DIVISION PHONE; 651-201-6507 FAX: 651-201-6108

# NURSERY CERTIFICATE APPLICATION: NEW APPLICANTS ONLY

Minnesota Statutes 2016, 18H.05

Attention: Cashier 625 Robert Street North St. Paul, MN 55155-2538

Or

You may apply for a certification online at www2.mda.state.mn.us/webapp/erenewal/apply.jsp.

- Select Nursery Stock Dealer or Nursery Stock Grower Certificate and follow the instructions.
- VISA, MasterCard, or electronic check are accepted online.
- A handling fee of approximately 3% (determined by the credit card company) is charged for each online renewal transaction.

**You must provide a complete list of sources if you intend to purchase nursery stock.** This information is necessary to monitor possible movement of plant pests with nursery shipments.

Please provide detailed maps to all growing sites to be inspected that are not located at the business address on the application.

## **GENERAL INFORMATION**

- Certificate fees are not refundable and not transferable.
- Applications with missing information will be returned for completion. Certificate will be withheld pending receipt of missing information.
- Applications will be processed and certificates will be issued for the current calendar year. Fees are not prorated and not refundable.

#### **CONTACT INFORMATION**

If you have questions regarding this form or the inspection process, please email **nurseryprogram@state.mn.us** or call 651.201.6507