September 11, 2017

The Minnesota Dairy Research and Promotion Council is seeking candidates to run for board positions in 11 districts. Elected board members represent dairy farmers in their respective districts and make decisions regarding the expenditure of dairy check-off funds.

Candidates should be active dairy farmers who are well-informed members of their community and interested in check-off promotion programs. Those interested in running for a seat on the board should contact their local nominating chairs by September 20, 2017.

After the nomination deadline, a list of the candidates will be available from the Minnesota Department of Agriculture. Mail requests should be sent to Promotion Councils, 625 North Robert Street, St. Paul, MN 55155-2538. Election ballots will be mailed in late December. Please contact Ruth White at 651-201-6494 or 800-967-2474 with any questions.

Districts by county and township:

District 1 - Red Lake, Polk, Roseau, Beltrami, Norman, Marshall, Mahnomen, Kittson, Clearwater, Pennington, Lake of the Woods 
Nominating Chair Al Grunhovd, 218-556-0259

District 3 - Becker, Cass, Wadena, Clay, Hubbard 
Nominating Chair Bruce Richter, 218-631-3470

District 5 - Todd 
Nominating Chair Mike Salber, 218-756-2470

District 7 - Douglas, Stevens, Traverse, Pope, Grant 
Nominating Chair Bette Paulzine, 320-283-5478

District 9 - Stearns County Townships: Albany, Avon, Brockway, Clearwater, Collegeville, Eden Lake, Fair Haven, Farming, Holding, Krain, Le Sauk, Luxemburg, Lynden, Maine Prairie, Munson, Paynesville, Rockville, St. Martin, St. Wendel, St. Augusta, St. Cloud, St. Joseph, Wakefield, Zion 
Nominating Chair Mike McAndrews, 507-358-9675

District 11 - Kandiyohi, Swift, Yellow Medicine, Renville, Lac Qui Parle, Big Stone, Chippewa 
Nominating Chair Jim Barthel, 320-568-2658

District 13 - Carver, McLeod 
Nominating Chair Rick Jeurissen, 952-215-9099

District 15 - Rice, Scott, Dakota, Le Sueur 
Nominating Chair Nate Kuball, 507-838-5740

District 17 - Wabasha 
Nominating Chair Nate Arendt, 507-273-8411

District 19 - Faribault, Blue Earth, Martin, Steele, Waseca, Freeborn, Watonwan 
Nominating Chair Jon Schmidt, 507-456-5451

District 21 - Winona 
Nominating Chair Gerard Brogan, 507-932-3026


Media Contact 
Alauna Yust, MDA Communications