April 27, 2017

Producers of four Minnesota agricultural commodities have elected new members to serve on the barley, beef, corn, and soybean commodity research and promotion councils. Each new board member will serve a three year term to help guide how each group spends mandatory check-off dollars.

The councils play an important role in developing and promoting Minnesota farm products, including grains and meats.

“Commodity council elections allow producers a say in how their check-off dollars are spent,” said Minnesota Agricultural Commissioner Dave Frederickson. “It’s very important they take advantage of this opportunity and I want to thank all the candidates and producers who took the time to cast a ballot.”

2017 commodity council elections for barley, beef, corn, and soybean:

Barley Research and Promotion Council 
Brian Lacey, Dalton

Beef Research and Promotion Council 
District 1 – Dr. Dan Larson, Clearbrook 
District 4 – Davis Wulf, Morris 
District 5 – David Glessing, Howard Lake 
District 7 – Neil Johnson, Jasper 
District 8 – Jeri L. Hanson, Comfrey

Corn Research and Promotion Council 
Districts 1, 2 & 4 - Dwight Mork, Bellingham 
District 7 – Brandon Fast, Mountain Lake 
District 8 – James O’Connor, Blooming Prairie 
District 9 – Brennen Toquam, Claremont

Soybean Research and Promotion Council 
Districts 1, 2 & 3 – William (Bill) Zurn, Callaway 
District 4 - Patrick O’Leary, Benson 
Districts 5 & 6 - Patrick Sullivan, Franklin 
District 7 – Ron Obermoller, Brewster 
District 8 - Rochelle Krusemark, Trimont


Media Contact
Alauna Yust, MDA Communications