What is HACCP?

Hazard analysis critical control point is a seven step process a food producer or establishment operator can use to develop a food process based, food safety plan. The HACCP process identifies critical control points and aids in the development of food process safety control measures.

What are the seven steps in HACCP?

  1. Conduct food safety hazard analysis.
  2. Identify critical control points (CCPs).
  3. Establish critical limits for preventative measures.
  4. Establish monitoring procedures for control points.
  5. Establish corrective actions.
  6. Establish effective record keeping systems.
  7. Establish procedures for verification that HACCP is working.

Who is required to have a HACCP plan?

  1. Food establishments that:
    • Cure or smoke food, except for smoking done for the purpose of imparting flavor only and not as a part of the cooking process.
    • Use food additives as a method to preserve food or change food into a non-potentially hazardous food.
    • Use a reduced oxygen method for packaging food.
  2. Food establishments that apply for a variance to:
    • Use more than one tagged shellstock container at a time.
    • Deviate from required cooking times and temperatures for raw animal foods.
    • Use molluscan shellfish life-support system display tanks to store and display shellfish that are offered for human consumption.

Single-use gloves are to be used only once and for one specific purpose only.