February 24, 2017

The Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) has announced the results of the recent elections of board members to serve on two Minnesota commodity councils.  The MDA is responsible for administering the elections and certifying the ballots.

“Minnesota’s research and promotion councils are crucial to the commodities they serve,” said Agriculture Commissioner Dave Frederickson. “These councils are finding innovative ways to utilize Minnesota’s many agricultural products and promote them in new markets, which bolsters our state’s entire agricultural economy. I wish the newly elected board members all the best as they start new terms in service.”

The Minnesota Dairy Promotion Council elected the following members to serve two year terms: Peter Ripka, Ogilvie (District 2); Ken Herbranson, Clitherall (District 4); Doug Popp, Royalton (District 6); Corrine Lieser, Belgrade (District 8); Kathleen Skiba, North Branch (District 10); Charles Krause, Buffalo (District 12); Paul Fritsche, New Ulm (District 14); Keith Knutson, Pine Island (District 16); Dave Schwartz, Slayton (District 18); Christine Sukalski, Leroy (District 20); Margaret Johnson, Fountain (District 22).

The Minnesota Turkey Research and Promotion Council elected the following members to serve three year terms: Scott Heymer (Region 1); Eddie Max Velo (Grower At-Large); Loren Brey (Breeder At-Large).

Through mandatory check-off programs, farmers pay a percentage of their sale proceeds to their respective commodity council. Commodity councils use the funds to pay for promotion, communication, and research activities aimed at increasing crop value for growers.

According to the USDA’s National Agricultural Statistics Service, Minnesota ranks first in the nation in the number of turkeys raised and eighth in the amount of milk produced.


Media Contact
Alauna Yust, MDA Communications