

United States Department of Agriculture

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

OCT 04 2018

The Honorable Mark Dayton Governor State of Minnesota St. Paul, Minnesota 55155

Dear Governor Dayton:

On September 13, 2018, the Minnesota State Executive Director of the Farm Service Agency (FSA), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), requested a primary county disaster designation for Murray County, Minnesota, due to damage and losses caused by excessive rain, flash flooding, and flooding that occurred from June 17 through July 3, 2018.

USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation. Therefore, I am designating Murray County, Minnesota, as a primary natural disaster area.

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, Cottonwood, Lyon, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, and Rock Counties, Minnesota, are named as contiguous disaster counties.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sonny Perdue Secretary

myttedue

Sincerely.