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Labeling and Selling Hemp Seed in MN

• Labeler is the guarantor, retailers share some responsibilities

• Must follow Federal Seed Act and Minnesota Seed Law

• Labeler must have permit

• Every lot must be labeled

• Lab test to substantiate label information

• Records of every seed lot must be maintained by labeler
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All seed intended for planting must be labeled 

Federal Seed Act:

• Any seed that moves across state lines

• Agricultural (HEMP) and vegetable seed

• Requirements mirror state law except 
test dates no later than in 5 months

• https://www.ams.usda.gov/rules-
regulations/fsa

Minnesota Seed Law:

• All seed sold or given away in 
Minnesota

• Agricultural (HEMP), Vegetable, 
Grass, Native Forbs and Grasses

• Test dates no later than 12 or 15 
months

• http://www.mda.state.mn.us/seed
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A seed permit is required to label seed in Minnesota

• All companies that label seed for sale in Minnesota must maintain a seed 
permit :

• Type A – <50,000 lbs of agricultural seed, annual permit

• Type B – vegetable and flower packets for home

• Type C - > 50,000 lbs of agricultural seed based on units or cwt, permanent 
permit with semi-annual payments based on sales $0.69/hundred weight
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What is required on the seed label?

• Kind

• Variety (Brand)

• Lot

• Origin 

• Net Weight

• Labeler’s name and 
complete address

• Pure Seed %

• Other Crop Seed %

• Weed Seed %  (<1% by 
weight)

• Inert Matter %

• Noxious weeds Kind, 
Prohibited or Restricted, 
Number per lb
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IDENTIFACTION COMPOSITION QUALITY
• Germination %

• Hard %

• Dormant %  

• Germ +Dormant +Hard %

• (Total Viable)

• Test Date (12 months)



Brand: Best Bred™
Kind: Hemp

Variety: Sweet Dreams Pure Seed: 98.50% Germination: 94%

Lot Number: 13-1AZ Other Crop: 0.50% Dormant Seed: 5%
Net Weight: 100 grams Weed Seed: 0.50% Germination + Dormant: 99%
Origin: Colorado Inert Matter: 0.50% Test Date: 11/2022

Noxious Weed Seeds: 
None Found

Labeler’s Name: John’s Seed Co.
Labeler’s Address: P.O. Box 10, Denver, CO 55555

Agricultural Seed Label



Seed Testing

7

• Use an AOSA accredited seed lab
• Maintain test for records
• Germination test = 400 seeds
• Purity test = 2500 seeds
• Noxious weed seed test = 25000 seeds



Permit holders are required to keep records

Records are required for each seed lot and must be maintained for 3 years 
including:

• Invoices for seed purchased and sold 

• Copy of the seed label including certification documents for certified seed

• Seed testing reports (Germination, Purity, Noxious Tests)

• Hemp: Certificate of Analysis of parent material with THC <0.3% THC

• File sample (500 grams for hemp) that is representative of the lot for one year 
following the sale of the lot
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How do we increase compliance?

• MDA publishes failure rate by variety

• MDA follows up with seed labelers on lots that fail

• Audit labeler records

• Sample seed lot or acquire file sample for testing

• Seed complaints



Thank you!

Michael Merriman
Michael.Merriman@state.mn.us

612-508-8270
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