• facebook
  • twitter
  • YouTube
  • RSS feed
  • 651-201-6000
  • 800-967-2474
  • 711 TTY

NodeFire Save Document
Home > Protecting Our Lands & Waters > Water Protection > Minnesota Agricultural Water Quality Certification Program > Pilot Projects

Pilot Projects 2013-2015

A map showing the pilot areas for the Minnesota Agricultural Water Quality Certification Program. The Minnesota Agricultural Water Quality Certification Program (MAWQCP) began as a three-year pilot project. During that time the MDA partnered with the University of Minnesota to complete a Knowledge, Attitudes and Practices study. The purpose of the study was to provide baseline information to improve program implementation.

MAWQCP: Knowledge, Attitudes and Practices (KAP) Study Final Executive Summary

The pilot areas were located in four distinct regions of the state; these areas represented Minnesota's diverse agricultural landscapes and cropping systems, differences in water resource concerns and also leveraged the strength of existing local partnerships. The pilot areas included: Elm Creek in Cottonwood, Faribault, Jackson, Martin and Watonwan counties, the Middle Sauk River in Stearns County, Whiskey Creek in Otter Tail and Wilkin counties, and the Whitewater River in Olmsted, Wabasha and Winona counties.

The MAWQCP is now a statewide program.









MDA Contact

Marcie Weinandt
Project Consultant