• facebook
  • twitter
  • YouTube
  • RSS feed
  • 651-201-6000
  • 800-967-2474
  • 711 TTY

NodeFire Save Document
Home > News, Media & Government Relations > News Releases > Four Minnesota commodity councils elect new leadership

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, April 27, 2017

Four Minnesota commodity councils elect new leadership

Barley, beef, corn, and soybean councils elect board members

ST. PAUL, Minn. – Producers of four Minnesota agricultural commodities have elected new members to serve on the barley, beef, corn, and soybean commodity research and promotion councils. Each new board member will serve a three year term to help guide how each group spends mandatory check-off dollars.

The councils play an important role in developing and promoting Minnesota farm products, including grains and meats.

“Commodity council elections allow producers a say in how their check-off dollars are spent,” said Minnesota Agricultural Commissioner Dave Frederickson. “It’s very important they take advantage of this opportunity and I want to thank all the candidates and producers who took the time to cast a ballot.”

2017 commodity council elections for barley, beef, corn, and soybean:

Barley Research and Promotion Council
Brian Lacey, Dalton

Beef Research and Promotion Council
District 1 – Dr. Dan Larson, Clearbrook
District 4 – Davis Wulf, Morris
District 5 – David Glessing, Howard Lake
District 7 – Neil Johnson, Jasper
District 8 – Jeri L. Hanson, Comfrey

Corn Research and Promotion Council
Districts 1, 2 & 4 - Dwight Mork, Bellingham
District 7 – Brandon Fast, Mountain Lake
District 8 – James O’Connor, Blooming Prairie
District 9 – Brennen Toquam, Claremont

Soybean Research and Promotion Council
Districts 1, 2 & 3 – William (Bill) Zurn, Callaway
District 4 - Patrick O’Leary, Benson
Districts 5 & 6 - Patrick Sullivan, Franklin
District 7 – Ron Obermoller, Brewster
District 8 - Rochelle Krusemark, Trimont

CONTACT: Alauna Yust, MDA Communications
651-201-6629, alauna.yust@state.mn.us