• facebook
  • twitter
  • YouTube
  • RSS feed
  • 651-201-6000
  • 800-967-2474
  • 711 TTY

NodeFire Save Document
Home > News, Media & Government Relations > News Releases > Commissioner Frederickson announces Organic Advisory Task Force roster

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Commissioner Frederickson announces Organic Advisory Task Force roster

Members to advise MDA through 2019

ST. PAUL, Minn. – Minnesota Agriculture Commissioner Dave Frederickson is pleased to announce the new 13-member roster of the Organic Advisory Task Force. The new members will serve three-year terms, representing organic farmers, retailers, educators, certifiers, consumers, and the public.

Members of the Task Force will advise the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) and the University of Minnesota on policies concerning organic production in Minnesota, and weigh in on how to effectively provide outreach, education, research, and technical assistance to the greater organic community.

“The new Task Force members offer a tremendous amount of experience, expertise, and talent,” said Commissioner Frederickson. “The organic sector is vital to Minnesota’s agricultural economy, and we need strong involvement from the organic community to make sure that sector continues to thrive. I look forward to collaborating with this board to continue to improve organic agriculture for all Minnesotans.”

According to the latest data from the USDA’s National Agricultural Statistics Service, the number of organic operations in Minnesota totaled 659 in 2015, ranking 7th in the nation.  

The new Organic Advisory Task Force members are:

Rory Beyer, St. Charles
Representing: Organic Farmers

Lynn Brakke, Moorhead
Representing: Organic Farmers

Susan Burns, Minneapolis
Representing: the Public

Cherry Flowers, St. Paul
Representing: the Public

Jenny Heck, Minneapolis
Representing: Organic Retailer/Wholesaler/Distributor

Bradley Heins, Morris
Representing: U of M Extension

Michelle Menken, St. Paul
Representing: Organic Certifiers

Lindsay Mutegi, St. Paul
Representing: United States Department of Agriculture

Carolyn Olson, Cottonwood
Representing: Nonprofit Organization Representing Organic Farmers

Jim Riddle (Chair), Winona
Representing: Organic Farmers

M. Scott Wells, St. Paul
Representing: U of M Faculty

Barbara Wolff, Burnsville
Representing: Consumers

Andrew Wright, Minneapolis
Representing: Organic Processors

For additional information about the Organic Advisory Task Force.

CONTACT: Alauna Yust, MDA Communications
651-201-6629, alauna.yust@state.mn.us