• facebook
  • twitter
  • YouTube
  • RSS feed
  • 651-201-6000
  • 800-967-2474
  • 711 TTY

NodeFire Save Document
Home > News, Media & Government Relations > Government Affairs > MAWQCP Advisory Committee

MAWQCP Advisory Committee

Monday, March 27, 2017

Commissioner Frederickson announces members of the Minnesota Agricultural Water Quality Certification Program Advisory Committee

ST. PAUL, Minn. – Minnesota Department of Agriculture Commissioner Dave Frederickson has appointed 15 citizens to serve on the advisory committee for the Minnesota Agriculture Water Quality Certification Program (MAWQCP).

The MAWQCP is a voluntary program that works with farmers to identify and mitigate on-farm risks to water quality in Minnesota. Farmers who treat all risks on their operation are certified and are deemed to be in compliance with any new water quality laws or rules for 10 years.

Committee member’s terms will begin March 31, 2017 and end June 30, 2018.

“This committee will play an important role in expanding the Minnesota Agriculture Water Quality Certification Program,” said Commissioner Frederickson. “The members bring a wide variety of experience and expertise and their input will ensure the MAWQCP continues to build upon its legacy of addressing agricultural water quality through innovation and partnership.”

Members starting their term March 31 are:

  • Steve Peterson, MAWQCP-certified farmer and retired General Mills corporate officer
  • Brian Buhr, Dean, College of Food, Agriculture and Natural Resource Sciences, Univ. of MN
  • Rebecca Kenow, Director, Sustainability Relations, Land O’Lakes SUSTAIN®
  • Paul Freeman, MAWQCP-certified farmer and Minnesota Soybean Growers Association past president
  • Gary Wertish, President, Minnesota Farmers Union
  • Kirby Hettver, farmer and First Vice President, Minnesota Corn Growers Association
  • Molly Pederson, Vice President and Executive Director, Audubon Minnesota
  • Mark Muller, Program Director, The McKnight Foundation
  • Joseph Smentek, Director of Public Affairs, Minnesota Soybean Growers Association
  • Macie O’Shaughnessy, Sustainable Solutions, Syngenta
  • Dennis Fuchs, Administrator, Stearns County SWCD
  • Lucas Sjostrom, Executive Director, Minnesota Milk
  • Marguerite Tan, Environmental Engineer, Hormel Foods
  • Paul Sweeney, Director of Conservation Planning, Ecosystem Services Exchange
  • Nathan Collins, farmer and Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation Board Member

For more information on the Minnesota Agriculture Water Quality Certification Program, visit the MDA’s website at MyLandMyLegacy.com.