Firms exporting products from Minnesota are often asked by importing states, foreign customers or foreign governments to supply a "certificate" for products regulated by the MDA. The certificate is a document prepared by the MDA containing information about a product that describes and or attests to animal health, product safety, production, processing methods or sanitation of processing plant. Before an export certificate can be issued, the exporting party must have a current Food Handlers License issued by the MDA and have a current inspection report on file without any outstanding critical orders. If one or more of the requirements are not satisfied the MDA will not issue a certificate. A fee of $125 dollars is charged for each specific type of certificate and an application will be processed by the MDA within 5-7 days after receiving the application.
Effective July 1st, 2017, per Minnesota Statute: 28A.081, the fee for Certificates of Free Sale will increase from $75 to $125 per shipment and/or per certificate.
The exporting party must have:
A fee of $125 dollars will be assessed, designated by Minn. Stat. Sec. 28A.081, for up to three certificates for one shipment.