GAP/GHP audits and certifications help producers and handlers to implement food safety plans that enhance the integrity of our food supply. This cost share program is funded through the Agricultural Growth, Research, and Innovation (AGRI) Fund.
Producers and handlers who are GAP/GHP certified. The address on your GAP/GHP certificate must be located in Minnesota.
GAP/GHP certified producers and handlers are eligible to receive reimbursement of 75% of their GAP/GHP certification costs (maximum reimbursement of $2,500).
Certification-related costs must be incurred between May 16, 2016 and May 15, 2017.
Application and all supporting documentation must be post-marked no later than May 31, 2017.
Application form (PDF: 95 KB / 2 pages)
** MAC Users: Please complete the form using Adobe Reader. **
Submit application form, IRS form W-9, proof of certification, and copies of invoices issued by certifier.
How do I become GAP/GHP certified?
Third party certification is required to become GAP/GHP certified. For more information, questions, or to schedule an audit, please call 651-201-6067 or visit the MDA Fruit and Vegetable Inspections Webpage.
Producers and handlers certified to USDA GAP/GHP standards by an accredited certifier are eligible for this program if:
What kind of costs qualify for reimbursement?
GAP/GHP Certification costs. Costs associated with becoming eligible for GAP/GHP certification, such as installing hand sinks and drains or hiring a contractor to oversee the plan, are ineligible for reimbursement.
How do I apply?
Mail your application to the MDA by May 31, 2017. Applicants must also submit proof of certification and copies of invoices issued by their certifier (no self-completed worksheets or cancelled checks). All applicants must also submit an IRS form W-9.
How much am I eligible for?
Payments depend on the total certification costs incurred between May 16, 2016 and May 15, 2017. In no case will payments exceed 75% of the documented costs (or $2,500) of certification.
When is the application due?
The application and all required supporting documentation must be postmarked no later than May 31, 2017. If postmark is illegible, we will consider the application to have been postmarked one day prior to receipt. Late applications will be denied.
What about my privacy?
Under state law, we must provide demographic information, like your name and address, if asked. We do not release social security numbers or individual payment amounts.
What if I have certified more than once during the eligibility period?
You are eligible for payment with each certification completed during the eligibility time period.
Where do I send the application?
MDA GAP/GHP Cost Share/AMD
625 Robert Street North
St. Paul, MN 55155-2538
Cassie Dahl, Program Coordinator
Ag Marketing & Development Division
Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA), 625 Robert Street N, St. Paul, MN 55155-2538, email@example.com