A mobile food unit is a food and beverage service establishment that is a vehicle mounted unit, either motorized or trailered, and readily movable, without disassembling, for transport to another location. The unit can operate no more than 21 days annually at any one place unless it is operated at the site of and in conjunction with a permanent business licensed under Minnesota Statutes Chapter 157 or Chapter 28A. All mobile food units must be operated in compliance with the Minnesota Food Code.
Plans, specifications and applicable fees must be submitted to the regulatory authority for review and approval at least 30 days before beginning the construction of a mobile food unit. The plans must include:
Please contact the regulatory authority for a preoperational inspection at least 14 days prior to opening.
License applications and fees must be submitted to the appropriate regulatory authority prior to operation.
All foods, beverages and ice must be obtained from an approved commercial source. Any food preparation done off site, must be accomplished at a licensed food establishment.
If multiuse utensils are used, provide dishwashing facilities which consist of at least a three compartment sink, either freestanding or installed in a counter. Space must be provided for air drying utensils.
A separate handwashing device supplied with hot and cold running water, soap, nailbrush, and paper towels must be provided in areas where food is prepared.
The water supply in a mobile food unit must meet the following requirements:
Dairy & Food Inspection Division
Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA), 625 Robert Street N, St. Paul, MN 55155-2538, firstname.lastname@example.org